Library: Environmental Sciences: Home

Liaison Librarian

Clair Sharpe

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library.
You can contact me by email or by Teams.

0151 7944343

Subjects: Chemistry, Earth, Ocean and Ecological Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Planning

New database - January 2024

The library has a new subscription to Nexis Uni which provides national and international business, news and company information. It includes:

An overview of the latest economic events via global press reports
Detailed company information
Industry information from specific sectors such as banks & finance and legal
International legal data

Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

See Nexis Uni Help for more features and training videos.

Reading Lists for Environmental Sciences

AGRICOLA
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. National Agricultural Library, and it provides citations relating to the field of agriculture.
The agricultural disciplines covered in AGRICOLA are extensive and include food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth, and environmental sciences. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports to support agricultural research. Coverage: 1970 to present.
Digimap
An online map and data delivery service, which provides datasets for education and research.
You will need to register with Digimap to access their resources. Each Digimap collection is made available under its own individual licence which details what activity is permitted with their data and what is not. By registering, you agree to abide by the terms of each individual licence. Please ensure you read each licence carefully, as these terms and conditions may impact your use of the resources in your research. Pay particular attention to the different referencing methodologies required for each collection. As you will need to register for an individual account, please also be aware that you agree to the sharing of your personal data, as per Digimap’s Privacy Notice.
Operated by EDINA at the University of Edinburgh, Digimap offers several data collections, including Ordnance Survey, historical, geological, LiDAR and marine maps, spatial data & the National Tree Map. It provides an easy to use interface to browse, view and print geological maps; a simple data download facility so that the maps can be downloaded for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software.
Environmental Studies in Video
- This link opens in a new window
This online collection contains film covering the realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science.
Films were produced from 1970 to 2014, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change. Users can examine environmental factors across all of Antarctica (Antarctica: The Game on Ice), Africa (Greening Africa), and Latin America (Eco Adventures in Latin America) and in specific countries including Egypt, Bangladesh, China, and France.
Marine Digimap
Marine Digimap offers two types of data: raster nautical charts (derived from UK Hydrographic Office paper charts and chart panels), and Marine Themes vector data that covers UK waters (derived from material obtained from the UK Hydrographic Offices).
You will need to register with Digimap to access their resources. Each Digimap collection is made available under its own individual licence which details what activity is permitted with their data and what is not. By registering, you agree to abide by the terms of each individual licence. Please ensure you read each licence carefully, as these terms and conditions may impact your use of the resources in your research. Pay particular attention to the different referencing methodologies required for each collection. As you will need to register for an individual account, please also be aware that you agree to the sharing of your personal data, as per Digimap’s Privacy Notice.
The raster nautical charts dataset comes in two versions: Raster Charts and Raster Charts XL, which excludes land-based features so you can add your own. The Marine Themes Vector is engineered into logical data layers for easy loading and efficient use in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Marine data is used in offshore engineering projects, management of marine and coastal environments, marine ecology studies, environmental impact assessments and tourism.

Get it for me

Ask the library to Get It For Me.

If we don't have a book, we will order it for our library or borrow it for you from another library.
For a journal article or conference paper, we will source a PDF or photocopy: for free!

My Liverpool App

The Library is in the My Liverpool app

The Library section of the My Liverpool App is the perfect tool to help you get the most out of your Library.

Get in and out of the Library
Book study spaces
Borrow books
View your borrowed books

Search for My Liverpool in Google Play or the App Store

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Environmental Sciences: Home