This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Skip navigation
University of Liverpool Logo
Toggle icon for side menu

Special Collections & Archives: Policies

SC&A includes manuscripts and archives, medieval to modern; early and finely printed books, and science fiction collections.

 

Special Collections & Archives follows best professional practice and relevant standards for all its activities. If you would like to know more about our policies, please contact us.

Access

SC&A’s mission means it is relevant to audiences within and without the University of Liverpool. The SC&A Access Policy (PDF) is intended to discuss the nature of these audiences, the services offered to them, and plans for future development and improvement.

Collection Development and Management

Special Collections & Archives cares for and makes available in perpetuity the unique and distinctive collections of the University of Liverpool in support of the University’s strategic priorities in teaching, research and public engagement. The SC&A Collection Development & Management Policy (PDF) provides a framework for the development and management of the collections.

The document also acts as a guide for potential donors as to the content and format of material we are able to accept. If you believe you may have relevant material, please contact us to discuss further or see our Conditions of Donation (PDF).

SC&A works to ensure access is balanced with the long term preservation of its unique collections, both physical and digital. Our current policy is outlined in the SC&A Collections Care & Conservation Policy (PDF).

Exhibitions: external loans

As well as contributing to exhibitions in the University’s Libraries, Museums & Galleries, SC&A will loan items to external organisations for exhibition.

The loan of original material must be approved by the Special Collections & Archives Manager and the Deputy Director, Libraries, Museums & Galleries. Loan for exhibition will normally only be approved if compliance with the standards of care set out in the Exhibition loan conditions (PDF) can be satisfied and the loan application form (PDF) is completed.