Here you will find sessions and resources specifically targeted at PGR Researchers.
The programme currently runs three times a year.
We aim to make sessions available via our Library Training calendar approx. 6 weeks before each programme commences.
If you can't make one the sessions then there are Online Tutorials available or email knowhow@liverpool.ac.uk for a recording.
Feeling like the weight of the world is on your shoulders? If you're a PhD student, you're not alone.
Join us for PhD Life, a new seminar series tailored to support research postgraduates like you in navigating the challenges that often accompany your academic journey. Each seminar will feature a speaker and delve into a range of valuable topics, including time management, well-being, research exploration, and career opportunities.
You'll be able to meet your fellow PGRs and share your experiences of PhD Life.
Why Attend PhD Life Seminars?
These sessions will be held in the Researcher Reading Room in Sydney Jones Library. Keep an eye out for sessions details on the Library Training calendar.
This tutorial will introduce the basics of academic publishing and provide you with the knowledge and confidence to choose the most appropriate outlet in which to publish your work. We will provide guidance on how to publish, including:
Be sure to check out our Open Access webpages and our guide on how to make your work open access.
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Academic Publishing or you can download an Academic Publishing PDF.
What copyright issues should you take into account before submitting the final version of your thesis? What’s high risk and what’s low risk? How will readers gain access to your thesis after graduation? In this tutorial, you will learn about the issues to consider when including material created by other people in your PhD thesis.
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Copyright & your PhD or you can download a Copyright and your PhD PDF.
This tutorial will demonstrate different approaches and technologies for organising and linking your ideas throughout the PhD planning and writing process.
In this tutorial we will cover:
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Mind Mapping and Idea Creation or you can download a Mind Mapping and Idea Creation PDF.
Your data are valuable, and it is important they are kept safe, secure, and organised throughout your research project. Managing your research data is a part of good research practice, and it is important to think about how you will store, document, and share your data to ensure they remain usable as valuable research results.
This tutorial will introduce you to Research Data Management (RDM) and cover the basics of good RDM including Data Management Plans, managing sensitive data, data storage, and the importance of sharing your data
Follow this link for an online tutorial on Research Data Management or download a Research Data Management PDF.
Overwhelmed with information? Not finding enough? This workshop will work through the stages of planning an effective search and using a database’s built-in search functionality to full effect. Learn how to cover all the bases to capture early, seminal and brand new research on your topic.
Follow this link for an online tutorial on Literature Searching or download a Literature Searching PDF.
This tutorial will demonstrate techniques to save time when reading articles and considering which resources to read in depth, alongside showcasing different methods to make clear, concise and critical notes.
This tutorial will cover:
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Speed Reading and Note Taking or download a Speed Reading and Note Taking PDF.
If you would like to improve your statistical skills, learn more about choosing appropriate tests or even if you are a beginner, take a look at the KnowHow statistics workshops/webinars coming up. For advanced statistics courses open to both staff and students, please see the Biostatistics page. There are also interactive tutorials available on Canvas covering different statistical topics.
If you are a student, you can also book a one to one appointment with one of our Stats@Liverpool tutors, who can help you with specific queries.
For demonstrations of performing most common statistical tests using SPSS, R and Stata see the KnowHow YouTube Channel.
This tutorial will introduce the 'Think. Check. Submit.’ set of resources and equip you with the knowledge and tools to recognise trusted journals and publishers for your research. The tutorial will consider approaches to assessing:
A list of the relevant websites used in the session can be found below:
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Think. Check. Submit or download a Think. Check. Submit PDF.
Altmetric helps you track who has been talking about your research online in places like Twitter, blogs, news websites, policy documents etc. and can help you to engage people outside of academia with your research.
At the end of this tutorial you should:
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Altmetrics & social media or you can download an Altmetrics and social media PDF.
When working with personal or sensitive data it is essential that researchers know how to proceed. We present a series of 3 short videos produced by the University of Liverpool’s Data Protection Officer Dan Howarth explaining the law and how to navigate data protection for researchers.
When considering how to initiate and manage your research, you will of course be considering ethics and research integrity as well as GDPR.
Here you'll find an online tutorial on GDPR for Researchers or you can download a GDPR for Researchers PDF.
Research data relating to research that involves personal or special category data should be anonymised. Anonymisation reduces the risk of data breaches or mishandling and it is also an important element to sharing effectively.
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Data Anonymisation or you can download a Data Anonymisation PDF.
Visual abstracts are becoming popular tools for both journals and authors to help communicate and disseminate research. This tutorial will explain what visual abstracts are, why they are used and will demonstrate how to create a visual abstract in both Canva and PowerPoint.
Here you'll find an online tutorial on Visual Abstracts or you can download a Visual Abstracts PDF.
A University of Liverpool sign in is required to view the below videos. Where prompted, please click the box labelled 'Click to sign in and play video', then login using your university email address and password.
This session is an introduction to systematic reviews and forms the first part of three sessions devoted to systematic reviews. Developing your review question is the important first step.
This session is the second in the series on systematic reviews. There will be a live session on searching a database of published research, in this case, MEDLINE. The skills demonstrated to use this database are transferable to any subject or discipline. The session will be interactive with you practising simple searching skills, so you will need a computer or smart device with a keyboard.
Good research is systematic, disciplined and rigorous. It also has to reported clearly in a way that it can be reproduced and contested. The session will share advice and tips from experienced systematic review authors on how to plan and manage your search results, data extraction, quality assessment and reporting of your review.
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more.
At the end of this tutorial you should;
Here you'll find an online tutorial on ORCiD or you can download an ORCiD PDF.
