This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Library News

Celebrate Black History Month with Libraries, Museums and Galleries

by University of Liverpool Library on 2021-10-14T16:06:29+01:00 | Comments

Black History Month reading display

This month we are proud to join the University’s celebration of Black History, Arts and Culture.

On Thursday 21 October, the department is hosting a webinar with Dr Richard Benjamin, Head of the International Museum of Slavery and Visiting Professor in the School of Histories, Languages and Cultures.

The talk will reflect upon and refocus contested, missing and disregarded, histories and narratives through the lens of museums, libraries, galleries and archives. Book your place to join the free webinar.

Black History in Literature

The Library has created a Black History Month reading list comprised of e-books and other electronic resources to support staff and students’ learning about Black History and Culture. In the libraries you can also find displays of our physical collections celebrating Black History which you can borrow and read in your own time.

As well as the books that we have selected, we want to hear your suggestions of titles to add to the collection. If there are books that you have read that you would recommend to others, or titles that you would like to read, complete this form with your suggestions and we will add the titles to our collection.

Continued Work

Black History is about more than just one month of the year and we are committed to continuing the work to celebrate and refocus Black History in our collections. The Library is supporting academic departments in decolonising their curricula with a focus on reading lists and other course materials. Our museums, galleries and archives will be working in partnership with the Centre for the Study of International Slavery to review the provenances of our Heritage collections and articulate them and the history of the University as openly as possible in the context of the legacies of slavery and colonialism.

We continue to share information and blogs to highlight the importance of Black History in our collections including the latest Special Collections & Archives blog by Science Fiction Collection Librarian, Dr. Phoenix Alexander, which showcases contemporary works by Black authors who write across and through literary genres.

Visit the University’s Black History Month hub page to find out more about what’s going on this month.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Library News
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

 customer service excellence