The University has created a programme of activity for you to get involved in during the summer term. If you are already on campus, or in Liverpool, there are a selection of in-person events for you to take part in safely on campus. If you’re studying from home, don’t worry, as you can take part in many of the activities online.
We’re excited to be delivering a range of in-person events on campus for you to attend. Check out the events below and book your place using the links provided.
In this short talk, Professor Dinah Birch, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Cultural Engagement at the University of Liverpool, will attempt to answer that question, looking at some of the ways in which novels can give pleasure, expand your understanding of your own experience, and that of others, acquire a deeper knowledge of history, and sharpen your writing skills. It will end with some thoughts as to how to identify novels that you will find rewarding and enjoyable.
Special Collections and Archives has launched their new online exhibition titled “Student life in the University of Liverpool Archive”. The exhibition will draw upon a wide variety of archival material from within the University Archive to build a picture of student life at the University of Liverpool throughout the 20th century. In this event, Robyn Orr from the Special Collections and Archives department will introduce the University Archive and the exhibition, highlight some of the team’s favourite items, and discuss the process of curating an online exhibition.
Join us for a fun and interactive quiz all about our favourite subject - BOOKS! Book your place and come along and join us for an in-person quiz to take a break from your work and test your literature knowledge!
The University of Liverpool houses the largest catalogued collection of science fiction in Europe, including the archives of John Wyndham, Brian Aldiss, Olaf Stapledon, Ellen Datlow, and many others. In this presentation, Science Fiction Librarian Dr. Phoenix Alexander will give an overview of the collections, talk about the work of acquiring, processing, cataloguing and exhibiting such materials, and present some highlights from the stacks. Including images of Arthur C. Clarke’s personal typewriter and Olaf Stapledon’s hand-drawn time charts (among other treasures), this presentation is unmissable for fans of sf’s history—and future!
Aimed at students sitting essay style online assessments, this session will look at interpreting essay questions, putting together an essay plan and writing introductions, paragraphs and conclusions.
This face to face workshop will look at what to expect from short answer style assessment questions, and provide tips on how you can prepare for them.
0 Comments.