This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Library News

Three Useful Resources Every Computer Science Student Should Know About

by University of Liverpool Library on 2022-04-08T12:01:00+01:00 | Comments

Linkedin Learning

Zelda Chatten is the Liaison Librarian who supports Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Mathematical Sciences and Physics students. Zelda provides one to one support with using subject-specific resources, finding information for your projects, and referencing your sources. Zelda has written a useful guide to some of the most important resources that every Computer Science student should know about, why you should use them and how they support your studies. 

1. ACM Digital Library

The ACM Digital Library is a research and discovery platform containing publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). It is the place to find relevant content from computer science journals, conferences and technical magazines. 

You need to know about ACM Digital Library because… 

  • It provides the full-text of every article ever published by the ACM
  • It showcases computing innovation from emerging, established and the latest research areas.

2. O’Reilly for Higher Education

As a Computer Science student, you’ll already be familiar with O’Reilly print books and their unique woodcut animal covers. The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform is your gateway to even more O’Reilly learning content. The digital platform includes e-books, videos and audiobooks. These cover topics such as computer programming, IT networking, graphic design and business strategy from O’Reilly and other publishers.

You need to know about O’Reilly because…

  • The platform includes audiobooks covering technology, business and leadership that can be listened to on the go.
  • It contains case studies which allow you to learn from real people at recognisable companies, giving you success stories and lessons learnt straight from the source
  • Your experience using the platform is personalised where you have content recommended to you. You can also use the O’Reilly app to download book and video content.

Find out more about O’Reilly at our upcoming webinar Introduction to O’Reilly for Higher Education on the 26th of April. Book your place or register to receive the recording if you cannot attend.

3. LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform that enables you to develop and build new skills through engaging online classes.  Find out what one of our first year students thought when she took a look at LinkedIn Learning

You need to know about LinkedIn Learning because…

  • It’s a great way to learn new skills or develop existing skills
  • It covers lots of in-demand skills including coding, project management, statistics and graphic design
  • You can work through the elements of a course in one sitting or track your progress over time.

All these resources are available on the Computer Science Library Guide which contains more key resources for the subject’s students.  Take a closer look to find out more.

If you have any further questions, contact Zelda Chatten by e-mail or make an appointment for more in-depth support.  


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Library News
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

 customer service excellence