Now that we’re into our third lockdown, it may be difficult to remember what life pre-lockdown was like! We’ve highlighted three activities below to help keep you occupied (and bring out your creative side!) during this lockdown.
The Victoria Gallery & Museum may be closed at the moment but that doesn’t mean that we can’t still create online exhibitions and this one is even more special because it’s created by you!
The first exhibition theme, running until 28th February 2021, is ‘Winter’. To contribute to the exhibition all you need to do is upload your winter themed art and crafts to our padlet board and we'll display them as an online exhibition.
This is a great way to share your artwork with your fellow students and you can also provide additional information about your piece and what inspired you if you wish. You can also comment on and like the submissions and hopefully get some discussions going!
If you're having trouble uploading to the padlet board, or you would prefer to submit your artwork directly to us to upload for you, you can email your files to vgmrecep@liverpool.ac.uk.
We look forward to seeing your artwork!
Image: Abraham (active 2001), Abercromby Square, Liverpool, Oil on canvas, FA.3210
Why not take the chance during this lockdown to contribute to the University’s Pandemic Archive? The Library’s Special Collections & Archives team are collecting your submissions and creating an archive of staff and student experiences of University life during the COVID-19 pandemic.
We need your help to make this archive a useful and interesting resource for future generations or researchers. All material, both digital and physical, will be stored in the University Library’s Special Collections & Archives, accompanying records of the University’s official response to the crisis, which are currently being collected.
We are encouraging a range of honest and personal reflections. Submissions are welcomed in a variety of formats, including but not limited to:
After the submission deadline (to be announced), Special Collections & Archives will host an online exhibition showcasing some of the material and will invite selected students to participate in its interpretation and promotion.
Longer term, the material will be catalogued and made available to all interested researchers via the Special Collections & Archives service.
Find out more information and submit your contributions via the SCA website.
Do you enjoy creative writing? Have you been wanting to get back into story writing but couldn’t find the time? Do you like to win prizes?
If you answered 'yes' to any of the questions above, this is the competition for you! The University is running a short story competition for staff and students with great prizes to be won.
To enter, all you need to do is write a short story on the theme of nature (including human nature), the environment or ‘taking notice’ of the world around you, with a maximum of 1500 words.
Prizes include:
Undergraduate students -
First prize: £500 and publication of your story in The Great Read anthology
Second prize: £250
Third prize: £100
Postgraduate students -
First prize: £500 and publication of your story in The Great Read anthology
Second prize: £250
Third prize: £100
Staff -
First prize: publication of your story in The Great Read
1st-5th prize: Prizes donated by the Senior Leadership Team include vouchers for Liverpool Philharmonic, the Gourmet Guide, Gaucho and Mowgli Street Food, as well as membership of National Museums Liverpool.
All entrants will also receive a 10% discount for Blackwells book store on campus and a collection of the best submissions will be published online.
Good luck and happy writing!
Find out more information about the competition on the 'Changing Natures' Short Story Competition webpage.
0 Comments.