This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Library - University of Liverpool Skip navigation
Toggle mobile navigation

Library for Online Programmes - Support Resources (Library Training Module): Searching

Library for Online Programmes: http://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/onlineprogrammes 
LIbrarian for Online Programmes - olib@liv.ac.uk  Skype: ohecampus  Tel: +44 0151 7944345 see full contact options.

 

Searching for Library Resources

Perma URL: send to clipboard
Embed this page:

Searching DISCOVER

This video provides an overview of our main multi-source platform, DISCOVER, which can be used to search across all Library subscribed e-journals and e-books.

Searching for E-Resources  

Locate an E-Journal Article

This video provides advice on locating a specific e-journal article using citation details such as article title or full citation options, using online Library platforms.

Using the Library Catalogue

This video provides an overview of the University of Liverpool Library Catalogue, this platform contains item records such as journals, books and other physical media in print and in digital format.

Browsing an E-Journal Table of Contents

This video demonstrates options for viewing, browsing and searching an e-journal Table of Contents.

Accessing Theses and Dissertations

This video provides an overview of online Theses and Dissertations databases and other digital sources provided by the Library for locating digital theses and dissertations and citations for locating printed works.

Using DISCOVER

Tips for Searching

When you use the search tools on the Library Web site you should be aware that there are broadly two kinds of search activity, including general searching for resources using keywords or locating particular (known) resources.

How to Locate E-Resources

 

Searching for E-Books

E-Journal Articles & Scholarly Papers

 

Online Theses and Dissertations

 

Finding unavailable E-Resources 

Using Bibliographic Databases

Evaluating Web Sites

The Library Web pages provides several options to search for materials published via the World Wide Web, however you should also examine any WWW content carefully to ensure the source or author is authoritative and reliable. 

Searching for Online Newspapers

 

Online Data, Reports and Statistics