Library: Health Data Science: Home

Getting Started and What's New in the Library

Welcome!

Some things have changed but not the important things. We're still as friendly as ever and ready to support you during your programme. Whether you're a new or returning student the Library is here to support you to succeed.

Below I've provided some information about important updates.

Getting Started Library Guide

The Library has created a new Getting Started Library Guide to provide a one stop shop that enables you to find all the essential information you need to get started with the Library. Visit the Getting Started guide during the year to keep you up-to-date. You can also easily access this guide from this Health Data Sciences Library Guide by clicking on the "Using the Library" tab above.

EndNote 20 Replaces EndNote 9.x

If you're an existing EndNote software user please note that we have now upgraded to EndNote 20 from the EndNote 9.x version. Information about EndNote 20 and how to migrate to EndNote 20 from your current EndNote version is available on our Referencing Library Guide. All new students will be taught using EndNote 20.

That's all for now, except to say that I'm really looking forward to meeting you and supporting you to succeed.

Enjoy your time at the University of Liverpool!

Shirley

Hello, I'm your Liaison Librarian

Shirley Yearwood-Jackman

Contact:

I am based in the Sydney Jones library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Biomedical Sciences, Life Sciences, Psychology

Databases for Health Data Sciences

BIOSIS Citation Index (1969 - present)
- This link opens in a new window
An index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Subject coverage includes traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology. For items published from 2006 forwards, cited references are fully indexed from BIOSIS sources. Coverage: 1969 to present.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

1. BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings).

2. Scopus is a broadly based database: good for interdisciplinary subjects, searching for authors and tracking down citations. Its interface is flexible and easy to use.

3. Web of Knowledge also provides broad coverage and good author and citation searching. It includes Science Citation Index, Index to Conference Proceedings and Journal Citation Reports.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
This Video Atlas is a human anatomical learning tool, which enables a three-dimensional look at anatomy. The images are video recordings of real human anatomic specimens.
The resource consists of five volumes, which can be divided into the following subject areas: upper extremity, lower extremity, trunk, head & neck, and internal organs. The content can be searched by anatomical regions and parts, as well as by the A-Z index. Throughout each program there are review sections that let you test yourself.
Anatomy.tv
This resource features 3D computer-generated models of the human anatomy.
The information in Anatomy.tv is divided into sections, such as 3D Atlas, 3D Real-time, Functional Anatomy, Clinical Specialties, Therapy, Language Editions, Other Products, and Quizzes and Activities. Users may manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing the accompanying text.
Visible Body
This resource contains a suite of applications covering anatomy, physiology, and pathology. It provides a comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body.
The interactive displays show you different structures and areas of the human body. The content includes 3D illustrations, MRI scans, cadaver images, animations, and quizzes. The definitions and pronunciations are available in multiple languages.

Visible Body

How to use Visible Body
Below are links to some videos explaining the various options available when using Visible Body
Accessing detailed information on any structure
Zooming, dissecting, and rotating the 3D model
Finding Content - Browse or Search
Using cross sections and diagnostic images

How to Download the Visible Body App
The guide will enable you to download the App onto your smart phone or tablet when off campus

Get It For Me

Tell us which books you need to help you study. Submit your suggestion.

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Health Data Science: Home

Getting Started and What's New in the Library

Hello, I'm your Liaison Librarian

Databases for Health Data Sciences

Visible Body

Get It For Me