This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Databases

Library collections of online content

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
Trial
This collection allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Trial
This resource contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays.Film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

Alexander Street developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others.
Trial
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and other historically significant periodicals. We have access to the American Periodicals Series and the American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.
Trial
This resource brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
Trial
An archive of magazines comprising research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Trial
This resource contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Trial
This collection provides access to approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Trial
This collection explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
Trial
This database contains the full text of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Trial
A collection of early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI. An online archive of manuscripts written by some of the most significant figures of Elizabethan and Jacobean history. These are accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers.
Trial
The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This collection of primary source material is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past
Trial
This series of four volumes provides a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
Trial
This resource offers access to hand-written documents and bibliographic records. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. Coverage: 1574 – 1757.
Trial
This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent
Trial
An archive of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. It presents a chronicle of over 100 years of British heritage, including its art, architecture, and landscapes, with an emphasis on leisure pursuits such as antique collecting, hunting, shooting, equestrian news, and gardening. Coverage: 1897 – 2005.
Trial
A searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. Coverage: 1898 – 1990.
Trial
It provides scholars with new ways of accessing works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together an array of printed sources. Developed and produced in collaboration with scholars, rare book librarians, bibliographers, and other experts from the library world, this resource offers facsimile images of some of the most significant collections of early printed books in Europe.
Trial
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. It constitutes primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains to related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies. Coverage: 1910 – 2015.
Trial
A single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world
Trial
An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, and theatre are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Trial
An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theatre are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Coverage: 1880 – 2015.
Trial
This resource provides researchers with rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, but its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Trial
This database brings together the books, pamphlets and periodicals collected by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen In the late 1800's, reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Trial
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The archive makes available editorial content and photography, providing insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
Trial
A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.
Trial
This collection provides primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects. Resources for each topic guide users through the full scope of the event, from the historical context that made such violations possible through the international response, prosecution of perpetrators, and steps toward rebuilding. The collection is growing to include 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video that give voice to the countless victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
New
The IEEE eLearning Library offers high-quality, peer-reviewed online courses in relevant topics. It delivers courses in core and emerging technologies, providing professionals, academics and students a new way to learn.
Trial
This collection includes books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Trial
This resource is the complete collection of Luther's writings. The first volume was published in 1883, and now published in full, it consists over 117 quarto volumes. The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke provides an historical-critical tool for theologians, historians, linguists and literary critics carrying out research into Luther's life and work. An English translation is available, in addition to the original German
Trial
This curated database provides a breadth of study for students to investigate both crucial global trends in mass incarceration, and the detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries. Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies is organized around a selection of key historical and contemporary events and themes, bringing together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, training materials and artistic works
Trial
This trial to Modules I & II of Mass Observation Online offers immediate and engaging evidence of major trends such as the increasing role of women in work, the birth of the welfare state, anti-semitism and anti-communism, the growth of secularism and the increasing importance of radio, television and cinema in people’s lives, as well as insight into such varied subjects as abortion, old age, eating habits, shopping, fashion, coal mining, sex, reading, and the decline of Empire. Through interviews, overheard conversations, directive responses and diary entries it offers brilliant cameos describing life in the jazz halls, what people thought of the movies they saw, how people survived the random terror of the Blitz, and where they lived and worked.
Please note it is not permitted to download PDFs during the trial
Trial
A collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Over 200,000 pages of material will be available for research on the Alexander Street multimedia platform – the only resource that allows users to cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts.
Trial
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Trial
An archive comprising the backfiles of 15 magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection provides primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics. Coverage: 1918 - 2015.
Trial
This database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included
Trial
This resource enables theatre students and researchers to see "behind the scenes" of the world's greatest dramatic performances. Performance Design Archive Online is an international collection that covers all aspects of theatre production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection covers design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Trial
An archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 subject areas, and multiple languages.
Trial
A database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. It enables researchers to identify articles relevant to their field of study. Journals indexed span 37 subject areas and multiple languages.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1931 - 2003.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1909 - 1975.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1832 - 1953.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1934 - 1991.
Trial
A collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles. Coverage: 1845 - 2015.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1934 - 2005.
Trial
This resource offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America’s first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based paper providing researchers with access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Coverage: 1936 – 2010.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1916 - 2003.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1912 - 2001.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1911 - 2002.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1903 - 2000.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1932 - 2008.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1956 - 2016.
Trial
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century, via Proquest History Vault consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Major collections in these modules include Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush presidencies; the Martin Luther King FBI File and FBI Files on locations of major civil rights demonstrations like Montgomery and Selma, Alabama or St. Augustine, Florida; and the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE)
Trial
This collection, via Proquest History Vault consists of 6 modules. The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document segregation in the early 20th century to the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.
Trial
This collection consists of seven modules: Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; two modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War. Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867. Southern Plantation Records document the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Plantation records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners. Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War features correspondence of the U.S. Army's Office of Civil Affairs.
Trial
This collection available via Proquest History Vault includes records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II. There are four modules in this category. The first module consists of the records of the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The second module consists of manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College. These collections focus on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights. The module on Women at Work during World War II consists of records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department and correspondence of the director of the Women's Army Corps. The newest module is the Margaret Sanger Papers consisting of the Smith College Collections and Collected Documents.
Trial
An archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period. Coverage: 1845 - 2015.
Trial
This database provides comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements. The collection examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the 21st century. This collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizational and government documents, journals, books, reports, videos, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images. Content is provided by preeminent historical archives as well as video partners. The collection also provides links to websites that offer background for the curated primary sources and documentaries.
Trial
High-definition video recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors, including David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection includes The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theatre.
Trial
This collection delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. At completion, it will include 175 hours of video and 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches). It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats
Trial
This collection includes O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.
Trial
A multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century. This online collection represents voices from Islam, Judaism, Eastern Religions, and Christianity;it provides resources to further explore Christian-Muslim-Jewish relations and key concepts in theology across religions, including Eastern Religions. It supports research and teaching in comparative religion, theology, world religion, religion and law, religion and politics, and serves as a resource for courses and scholarship in Middle Eastern studies, social theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and world history.
Trial
This resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history,is organised around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history, and currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Trial
This collection of primary materials includes the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. The collection aims to show women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Trial
This collection explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. Bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia
Trial
A searchable archive of leading British women’s interest magazines, 1922-2005. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture
Trial
An archival resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Trial
An archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues. It preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication. Note: there is a 6-month embargo on new issues.
Trial
This magazine archive showcases unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. These unique periodicals provide insight to what has and continues to influence youth culture, especially during times of rapid social and cultural change in the U.S. and the UK. At completion, this collection will have 250,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

 customer service excellence