It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University is providing study space for students who require access to study spaces or IT resources that they cannot access from home.
Students who are able to study from home or in their accommodation should do so and avoid travelling to campus.
Both the Harold Cohen Library and the Sydney Jones Library are open 8am – 11pm, 7 days a week with limited availability. You should only visit the Library if it is essential to do so and you must book a study space before you visit.
Opening hours are subject to change in response to any changes in circumstances or new guidance that we receive.
Students will be able to book up to 30 hours per week(Sun-Sat) in the libraries.
Spaces can be booked up to 48 hours in advance and will only be made available on the booking system 48 hours before.
The Library provides access to current UK and overseas newspapers as well as access to digital archives of historical newspaper content. This guide groups newspapers into categories to highlight different collections and resources available to staff and students.
PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay UK) contains the full-text of the last 60 days' issues of many UK newspapers including The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian and the Independent. It also hosts national tabloids including the Daily Express, Daily Mail, Daily Mirror and Daily Star. Regional titles include London Evening Standard, Manchester Evening News and The Scotsman. This is the only newspaper database with contemporary content displayed in its original layout with images. Issues appear on screen exactly as they appear in print, with a two-page format. We have a 4 simultaneous users licence, so please remember to sign out when you are finished, and if you are denied access please try again later.
The news section of the Lexis Library database provides content from from UK national and regional newspapers. You can access the text (but not images) of many national and regional newspapers (including the Liverpool Echo) . Coverage dates vary for each title.
PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay) contains the full-text of the last 60 days' issues of hundreds of newspapers worldwide. Issues appear on screen exactly as they appear in print, with a two-page format. We have a 4 simultaneous users licence, so please remember to sign out when you are finished, and if you are denied access please try again later.
ukpressonline. Provides access to the full archive (page images) of the Daily Mirror (1903-current) and the Daily Express (1900-current).
The Library provides a selection of daily newspapers year round, Monday-Friday except public holidays and University closure days. In the Harold Cohen Library, newspapers can be found opposite the self service terminals on the ground floor. In the Sydney Jones Library, newspapers can be found in the seating area near the cafe and vending machines in the Abercromby Wing.
Materials in microform (microfilm, microfiche/cards) are held in the Sydney Jones Library and can be searched using the Library Catalogue. Click on the ‘Keyword’ drop-down box, then ‘Class number (Local collections)’ and enter either ‘microfilm’ (for films) or ‘microcard’ (for fiches or cards).
The collection also includes theses held on microfilm (indicated on the Catalogue record for individual items).
For access to the collections please ask at any of the Help Desks on the ground floor, or on the 1st floor Grove Wing Link.
First time users will need to register using their University of Liverpool email address, using the domain @liverpool.ac.uk or @liv.ac.uk
The University of Liverpool's institutional subscription provides online access to the latest edition, published every Thursday and allows you to browse full editions back to 2013. There is also an archive of earlier articles. It also provides access to the THE app for iOS, Android and Kindle Fire.