This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Getting Started with the Library

Everything you need to know about using the Library this year

Newspapers:  

The Library provides access to current UK and overseas newspapers as well as access to digital archives of historical newspaper content. This guide groups newspapers into categories to highlight different collections and resources available to staff and students.

The Library provides access to several databases and online resources which allow you to search for current and recently published content in a variety of national and regional newspapers. 

Database Content
PressReader

PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay UK) contains the full-text of the last 60 days' issues of many UK newspapers including The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian and the Independent. It also hosts national tabloids including the Daily Express, Daily Mail, Daily Mirror and Daily Star. Regional titles include London Evening Standard, Manchester Evening News and The Scotsman. This is the only newspaper database with contemporary content displayed in its original layout with images. Issues appear on screen exactly as they appear in print, with a two-page format. We have a 4 simultaneous users licence, so please remember to sign out when you are finished, and if you are denied access please try again later.

Lexis Library - News

The news section of the Lexis Library database provides content from from UK national and regional newspapers. You can access the text (but not images) of many national and regional newspapers (including the Liverpool Echo) . Coverage dates vary for each title.

Nexis  Nexis provides news from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers and newswires. It provides text but not images. It is possible to search groups of sources for example, UK broadsheets, or an individual publication. Coverage is from the 1980s onwards and is updated daily. Nexis also includes international news publications.
Gale OneFile Gale OneFile News provides access to more than 2000 world newspapers and includes thousands of images, radio and tv broadcasts and transcripts.  
FT.com Provides access to the Financial Times. Users will need to set up an individual login.
Westlaw UK - News Provides full text (but not images) of many national newspapers. Coverage dates vary for each title.

You can also use the Library Catalogue to search for individual newspaper titles. 

International newspaper content is searchable through the below online resources: 

Database / Website Content
Nexis Nexis provides content from overseas news publications and global newswires. It provides text but not images. You can limit searches by language, country and publication title. 
PressReader PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay) contains the full-text of the last 60 days' issues of hundreds of newspapers worldwide. Issues appear on screen exactly as they appear in print, with a two-page format. We have a 4 simultaneous users licence, so please remember to sign out when you are finished, and if you are denied access please try again later.
Gale OneFile  Provides access to more than 2.300 world newspapers, including images and broadcast transcripts.
Online Newspapers This website provides access to thousands of newspapers including links to many important overseas publications such as The New York Times, Le Monde and Die Zeit.

 

The Library provides access to several online archives which contain digitised historic newspaper content.

Please find a list of individual collections in the table below.

Note that newspapers digitised by ProQuest can be accessed individually or searched on the ProQuest Historical Newspapers platform. Similarly you can search all newspaper content digitised by Gale within the Gale Primary Sources database, or access the titles separately. 

Historical Newspapers

The Library provides a selection of daily newspapers year round, Monday-Friday except public holidays and University closure days. In the Harold Cohen Library, newspapers can be found opposite the self service terminals on the ground floor. In the Sydney Jones Library, newspapers can be found in the seating area near the cafe and vending machines in the Abercromby Wing.

Papers available:
Location Newspapers
Harold Cohen Library
  • The Times
  • The Guardian
Sydney Jones Library
  • Financial Times
  • The Guardian
  • The 'I'
  • The Telegraph ( 1 day per week)
  • The Times
  • Times Educational Supplement (TES)
  • Times Higher Educational Supplement (THE)

 

  • Arab Weekly (weekly - English language version)
  • China Pictorial (monthly - English language version)
  • China Today (monthly - English language version)
  • Die Zeit (weekly)
  • New York Times International Edition  (1 day per week)
  • Other miscellaneous foreign newspapers
London Campus Library
  • Financial Times
Materials in microform
  • Materials in microform (microfilm, microfiche/cards) are held in the Sydney Jones Library and can be searched using the Library Catalogue. Click on the ‘Keyword’ drop-down box, then ‘Class number (Local collections)’ and enter either ‘microfilm’ (for films) or ‘microcard’ (for fiches or cards).
  • The collection also includes theses held on microfilm (indicated on the Catalogue record for individual items).
  • For access to the collections please ask at any of the Help Desks on the ground floor, or on the 1st floor Grove Wing Link. 

Times Higher Education (THE) provides analysis and insight on higher education.

First time users will need to register using their University of Liverpool email address, using the domain @liverpool.ac.uk or @liv.ac.uk

The University of Liverpool's institutional subscription provides online access to the latest edition, published every Thursday and allows you to browse full editions back to 2013. There is also an archive of earlier articles. It also provides access to the THE app for iOS, Android and Kindle Fire.