Library: Law: Legislation

Databases for legislation

These databases will help you to find full-text legislation.

Take a look at the databases listed on the Official Publications page too.

Halsbury's Laws of England
This database covers the whole spectrum of English law and is designed to enable practitioners to answer the full range of questions likely to arise in the course of their work.
It provides a comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales, containing law derived from every source. It covers every proposition of English law (whether statutory or common law), and is divided into alphabetically arranged titles, making it convenient to use and enabling quick research into any area of law.
UK Parliamentary Papers
This database provides detailed primary sources for the past three centuries, for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world, and constitutes a part of the world’s historical record.
Parliamentary Papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy and provided a forum for the ideas of thinkers of the day. With the core content of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers and House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, the digitization of the Parliamentary Papers of the UK Parliament has made this resource a research destination for everything associated with parliamentary research.
Lexis+
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.

Web sites for legislation

These web sites include links to full-text legislation and useful further information about the legislative process.

Don't forget to look at the Official Publications page for further resources relating to legislation.

BAILII
more...less...
BAILLI is the British and Irish Legal Information Institute. The site provides free full-text access to British, Irish and EU legislation.
legislation.gov.uk
more...less...
Managed by National Archives on behalf of HM Government, this site contains the full-text of original (as enacted) and revised legislation, including public general and local and private Acts; Acts of the Scottish Parliament, Welsh Assembly and NI Assembly and Statutory Instruments from those jurisdictions.

Keep up to date with new legislation

The website legislation.gov.uk will keep you up to date with newly enacted UK Acts of Parliament via RSS feeds - see examples below.

How is legislation made?

Find out more about how a Bill becomes an Act of Parliament:

Take a video tour of Parliament:

Keep up to date with everything happening in Parliament via Twitter and Facebook.

Guides to finding legislation

These brief guides explain what legislation is and how to find it.

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Law: Legislation

Databases for legislation

Web sites for legislation

Keep up to date with new legislation

How is legislation made?

Guides to finding legislation