Music: Additional resources

The blog of professional violinist Simon Hewitt Jones. Here he details not only his own musical activities, but also provides hints and tips for teaching and the performance activities of peers

Broadcasts a number of stations with a wide range of music, including classical, new music, popular music and Indian music.

an American television network that provides documentaries on a wide range of music-related topics, including important social events for music and the lives of composers.

This series presents the best in the performing arts from across America and around the world.

his database holds details of 17th- and 18th-century music manuscripts preserved in libraries and archives in the UK and Ireland, plus details of a few manuscripts from the 19th century. It includes manuscripts from national, public and academic libraries, county and city record offices, cathedral and chapel libraries and some private collections. We estimate that about two-thirds of surviving sources in the UK have now been documented; work is still ongoing on collections at the British Library, and we are seeking funding to enable us to continue identifying and cataloguing source material at other locations.

Quick search is a free-text search of the entire database. Advanced search allows you to restrict your search to specific fields, and to search by tune using the incipit search option. After making a search, you can filter your results further using the filter options above your set of results. From the menu on the left, you can also browse the indexes of people, institutions, titles, subjects and library sigla, and view examples of composers' and scribes' handwriting in RISM's image gallery.

A list of completed and ongoing projects

Musicians of Britain and Ireland 11900-1950 (MBI) recovers and publishes for free download some 2000 recordings of leading musicians who in their time formed the backbone of the record company catalogues.
Owing to changes in company policy in the 1930s, their work was gradually excluded and much of it forgotten.

MBI will be accessible through an attractive online search interface that also gives access to the complete recorded output of the AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music (CHARM).

By reissuing such a large body of top-quality recorded performances, MBI aims to enhance public dissemination of the recorded heritage, to enable a revaluation of pre-War British and Irish musicianship among both the research community and the general listening public, and to raise awareness of the extent to which record company policies shape public perceptions of musical excellence and the reputation of artistic communities