Library: Music:

Liaison Librarian

John Wright

He/Him

Contact:

I am based in the Sydney Jones library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Architecture, Communication and Media, English, Music, Philosophy

Databases and resources for Music

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
A portal for open access research theses provided by DART-Europe, which is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia.
DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). It offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications.
EThOS e-Theses Online Service
UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
EThOS aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers and it helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
It assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge to unlock the potential benefits worldwide. It also supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship to enhance the sharing of knowledge.
ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
This database enables you to search several databases containing scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
It powers research in academic, corporate, government, public and school libraries around the world with content, including academic databases, and technologies that connect people with information. This database contains subject areas, such as dissertations & theses, health & life sciences, humanities & social sciences, and contemporary & historical newspapers.

Oxford Bibliographies
A database that provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopaedia entries maintained by Oxford University Press.
It helps researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to specific chapters, books, websites, archives, or data. Our subscription includes access to the African Studies, Atlantic History, Classics, Criminology, Geography, International Law, Linguistics, Military History, Political Science and Sociology modules. Perpetual access to the Victorian Literature module is also available. In each module, scholars have produced a guide to sources in an area of study. The guides feature bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
This resource provides a national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Oxford DNB was first published in 2004. Since 2005 updates have extended the Dictionary’s coverage, now including biographies of men and women who died in or before 2016. Oxford DNB online is updated regularly, extending coverage into the 21st century, whilst also adding new biographies across all historical periods.
Oxford English Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
Regarded as the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, this database is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words.
OED provides both present-day meanings and the history of individual words, and of the language -traced through quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. This dictionary was created more than 150 years ago, and it receives regular updates, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
Oxford Reference
An online reference product, spanning twenty-five different subject areas, bringing together digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
This database consists of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. We subscribe to the Premium Collection which offers indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works, including information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series. We also subscribe to the Literature and Western Civilization collections.

BFI Player
First Time Users:Create your BFI account using your University email address at BFI Player Academic Registration
Select "University of Liverpool" as your institution from the dropdown list. You may need to authenticate your subscription using your University credentials.
Returning Users: Visit BFI Player Sign In and log in to your BFI account using your University email address.

Please Note: all users need to re-subscribe every year. Visit BFI Player Academic Registration and select 'Already have an account? Sign in'. Once you have logged in with the username and password set up last year you will need to select "University of Liverpool" as your institution from the dropdown. It may be necessary to authenticate your subscription using your University credentials.

This service allows access to items in the Subscription (Purple label) section of the BFI player - it does not provide access to items in the Rental (Red label) section. Films available on BFI Subscription are determined by BFI and may only be available for a limited time.
BoB
This is a Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education, which allows staff and students to record programmes; and search the archive of broadcasts.
BoB (formerly Box of Broadcasts or BoB National) is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The first time you use BoB you will be prompted to enter an email address to use the MyBoB Playlist facility.
BoB is usually only available to users on the UK mainland. However, the Library is participating in a pilot project which now allows some BoB content to be made available to overseas students. Further details can be found at FAQ .
Kanopy
This platform provides access to a collection of films. Movies range from award-winning documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics, training films, and theatrical releases.
Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films, and educational videos that inspire, and entertain. To be able to start watching the content on Kanopy, you need to sign up with your university login.
PressReader
A newspaper distribution and technology company, which distributes digital versions of thousands of newspapers and magazines in over sixty languages.
It operates digital editions of newspapers and magazines for publishers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post and The Globe and Mail. You can download and save titles to read offline. We have access to content from the last 90 days from thousands of UK and International newspapers and magazines.

The main collection of printed music books is in the main library collection of the Sydney Jones Library, beginning on floor 1 of the Grove Wing and continuing on floor 2.

A collection once housed in the Music Department is now located in the Brunswick Library Store. Although this is an off-site store, all material can be requested via Library Search.

The Library uses the Library of Congress classification system and there are three main areas for music,

Book Classification table
Class number	Subject
M	Music
ML	Literature on music
MT	Instruction and study

A more detailed guide to the classification scheme is also available.

DVDs
The majority of DVDs are on the ground floor of the Sydney Jones Library and discoverable via Library Search. As well as having a number of concerts available on DVD , films can be a useful addition to music studies, an example being 'rock and roll' films from the fifties and early sixties, such as Rock, Rock, Rock and Expresso Bongo.