About Libraries, Museums and Galleries: Collection Development and Management Policy

University of Liverpool Library Collection Development Guiding Principles [1]

 

We will:

• Purchase materials to meet the learning, teaching and research needs of the students and staff of the University.
• Implement a ‘Digital First’ policy where appropriate and practicable.
• Ensure that we provide a return on investment through targeted purchasing of resources and by the continuous evidenced-based evaluation of existing acquisitions and subscriptions.
• Balance the size of the Library’s physical collections against the need to provide sufficient study spaces.
• Continue to explore innovative ways of acquiring information to meet learning, teaching and research needs.
• Embed the principles and mechanisms of Open Access into our information provision.
• Commit to developing diverse, accessible, and inclusive collections, working in partnership with academics, students and suppliers.
• Develop and manage our collections responsibly and sustainably regardless of format to provide sufficient access to resources for our students and academics.
• Collaborate with other institutions, regionally, nationally, and internationally, to increase and improve access to resources.

[1]Special Collections and Archives have their own separate Collection Development Policy Special Collections and Archives Collection Development Policy.

Library Collection Development Guiding Principles – November 2021

Collection Development and Management Policy

Purpose

This policy is a statement on the general principles and approach that underpin the provision of information resources at University of Liverpool Library. Our collections inspire and facilitate high quality learning, teaching and research across the institution in support of the University’s mission, “For advancement of learning and ennoblement of life”. Libraries, Museums and Galleries encompass a diverse and complementary range of services, all of which are designed to enhance learning, teaching and research across all the institution's activities.

We will always use our best endeavours to source and procure any information resource required by a member of the University, subject to practicality and reasonable value for money. Our aim is that University members should be able to access information immediately where possible and as quickly as possible in other cases. We will ensure that our collections are not static and that we review existing collections and their metadata in line with best practice on purchasing.

Introduction

The Library’s Collection Development and Management Policy (CDMP) is integral to the Libraries, Museums and Galleries Aims and Aspirations 2021. To develop, curate and manage these resources effectively, the service requires a well formulated CDMP, plus internal supplementary documents to provide a framework in which purchasing decisions can be made. We are committed to providing value for money through the implementation of our CDMP. We will support University activities and the aim of enabling students to become ‘creative and culturally rich graduates’.

Scope of this policy:

• This policy applies to the libraries managed by Libraries, Museums and Galleries department within the University of Liverpool.
• It includes provision for learning and teaching taking place at the University of Liverpool.
• It includes provision for research activities carried out by the University community.
• It excludes the University’s Heritage Collections which are covered under separate policies. [1]

 

Guiding principles

The policy is underpinned by the following guiding principles. We will:

• Purchase materials to meet the learning, teaching and research needs of the students and staff of the University.
• Implement a ‘Digital First’ policy where appropriate and practicable.
• Ensure that we provide a return on investment through targeted purchasing of resources and by the continuous evidenced-based evaluation of existing acquisitions and subscriptions.
• Balance the size of the Library’s physical collections against the need to provide sufficient study spaces.
• Continue to explore innovative ways of acquiring information to meet learning, teaching and research needs.
• Embed the principles and mechanisms of Open Access into our information provision.
• Commit to developing diverse, accessible, and inclusive collections, working in partnership with academics, students and suppliers.
• Develop and manage our collections responsibly and sustainably regardless of format to provide sufficient access to resources for our students and academics.
• Collaborate with other institutions, regionally, nationally, and internationally, to increase and improve access to resources.

Governance and funding

We invest a high proportion of our overall budget to information acquisition. There are three funds for our information provision: the Collection Development and Management Fund, the recurrent Subscriptions Budget, and the Institutional Open Access Fund. We will use these funds strategically and flexibly within their limits to achieve the maximum benefit for our staff and students. The budget is overseen by the Library’s Resource Budget Group. The group meets regularly with membership derived from relevant teams and specialisms within the Library.

Formats

The Library’s preference is to acquire or subscribe to online resources rather than physical formats, where available. This is subject to the following considerations:

• Cost effectiveness,
• Ease of access,
• Licensing obligations,
• Future access,
• User preference,
• Quality of reproduction.

Physical formats will still be purchased in addition to, or instead of digital formats, when appropriate.

 

Open Access

The Library is committed to supporting the principles of Open Access publishing and ensuring that it is appropriately funded. In line with the University of Liverpool’s Open Access Policy, we believe in the benefits of Open Access publishing in terms of giving research greater visibility and the potential for more rapid dissemination and greater research impact. The University of Liverpool has a mandatory position that all research outputs must be deposited in, or be made accessible through, the library-managed University Repository. Our role as curators will continue to evolve with our growing involvement in the management of research data.

 

Selection of resources

The Library works closely with academic staff and students to ensure that the content purchased meets the needs of individuals and departments. The Library has specialist teams able to acquire and subscribe to new content, in all formats, by the most efficient and cost-effective means. Requests from individuals are processed via the Get it for Me service and reading list materials via Reading Lists @ Liverpool. Where appropriate, inter-lending services are used or Open Access formats are sourced.

 

Gifts and Donations

The Library will consider gifts or donations if they support current learning, teaching or research needs or are relevant to our existing collections. Once a donation has been accepted, the Library reserves the right to add the donation to stock or to dispose of it. The Library cannot guarantee that multiple gifts or donations will be kept as one collection, or that any donation will be kept in perpetuity unless it is exceptionally valuable.

 

Collaborative Collection Management

The Library is committed to ensuring that we make best use of the physical space, and to contribute to a national strategy for collection management.

 

Stock Editing and Disposal

The Library regularly reviews its printed books collections for academic currency, quality and relevance to the university’s learning, teaching and research. These reviews also assist in the effective long-term management of the physical space. In addition, reviews of the online collections take place to ensure currency and relevance.

 

Policy Review

This policy will be reviewed annually to reflect changes in the academic environment and the needs of our users.

 

[1] e.g. Special Collections and Archives Collection Development Policy.

Library Collection Development & Management Policy – November 2021