Library: Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology:

Liaison Librarian

Sam Gill

He/Him

Contact:

I am based in the Sydney Jones Library - please contact me by email or book an appointment.

0151 294 3940

Subjects: Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology, History, Irish Studies, Languages, Cultures and Film, Politics

Databases and websites for the ACE disciplines

ADS Library
The collection brings together bibliographic records and Open Access copies of published and unpublished documents relating to archaeology and heritage.
The ADS Library brings together bibliographic records and e-prints for published and unpublished archaeological documents. It includes data from sources, such as OASIS, Digitised Journals and Monographs, Internet Archaeology, Publisher Feeds, and Grey Literature from ADS Archives. British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB) was originally compiled by the Council for British Archaeology, but in 2016 it was deposited with ADS.
JSTOR
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995 in New York City, United States. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals.
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
Archaeology Data Service
Founded in 1996, ADS is the leading accredited digital repository for heritage data generated by UK-based fieldwork and research.
This database promotes good practice in the use of digital data in archaeology, it provides technical advice to the research community, and supports the deployment of digital technologies. The core activity of the ADS is the long-term digital data preservation and the promotion and dissemination of a broad range of data in archaeology.
AATA Online
A free research database containing literature abstracts related to the conservation and preservation of material cultural heritage.
The resource also includes subject-specific bibliographies produced by the Getty Conservation Institute’s own scientific research and conservation projects. Note that AATA Online does not provide full texts for publications abstracted in the database, but its records include website addresses for online publications, if available.
eHRAF Archaeology
This database -which is organized by regions and archaeological traditions- provides information on the prehistory of the world.
The information is organized into archaeological traditions and the text is subject-indexed to the paragraph-level by HRAF anthropologists according to HRAF’s modified Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). Traditions covered in the database include Egyptian, Highland Andean, Coastal Andean, Maya, Highland Mesoamerican, Mississippian, Mesopotamian, the U.S. Southwest, and Indus Valley sequences.
eHRAF World Cultures
This database contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life, making it a repository of cultural knowledge for anthropological and cross-cultural research.
The information is organized by region and sub-region and the sources are indexed at the paragraph level. The subjects used in the indexing and searching the ethnographic texts are based on the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), a thesaurus of subject terms and descriptions.
AnthroSource
This is an online portal to full-text anthropological resources containing past, present and future AAA publications.
AnthroSource contains articles from journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs, and it provides access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
GeoRef
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world.
It contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
Digimap
An online map and data delivery service, which provides datasets for education and research.
You will need to register with Digimap to access their resources.
Each Digimap collection is made available under its own individual licence which details what activity is permitted with their data and what is not. By registering, you agree to abide by the terms of each individual licence. Please ensure you read each licence carefully, as these terms and conditions may impact your use of the resources in your research. Pay particular attention to the different referencing methodologies required for each collection. As you will need to register for an individual account, please also be aware that you agree to the sharing of your personal data, as per Digimap’s Privacy Notice.

Operated by EDINA at the University of Edinburgh, Digimap offers several data collections, including Ordnance Survey, historical, geological, LiDAR and marine maps, spatial data, OS National Geographic Database (NGD) & the National Tree Map. It provides an easy to use interface to browse, view and print geological maps; a simple data download facility so that the maps can be downloaded for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software.
ScienceDirect
A platform of peer-reviewed literature built on quality, interdisciplinary research. It helps find answers to research questions, and gain insights into trending research topics.
Note that there are some titles that we do not subscribe to. Journal coverage is from the first volume for most titles, but just from 1995 for The Lancet and a few other Academic Press titles. We have access to Elsevier's 'Freedom Collection' titles and a few subscribed titles outside of this collection. We have full text access to the 2000-2008 Veterinary Medicine collections. ScienceDirect also hosts ejournals for other publishers, but we do not have access to those (e.g. American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Psychological Association, Anderson Publishing Ltd, CRC Press).

Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
This Literature and Classics collection offers comprehensive essays on major authors, periods, and genres, written by experts.
The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving contextual information about political, social, religious, and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilisations of ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage: 1991 to present.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
A virtual library of Latin, Greek, and English texts, which covers epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians.
Loeb Classical Library was founded by James Loeb in 1911, with the purpose of making Greek and Latin literature accessible to readers. The Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with texts and English translations. The volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are provided in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
A research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
TLG’s goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. It contains lexica, such as the Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English lexicon, Cunliffe's Lexicon of Homeric Greek, Powell's Lexicon of Herodotus and the Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität (LBG). You must register for an individual account the first time you use TLG. Follow the link to the resource, select “Register” in the top right corner. Register using your University of Liverpool email address.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
This database contains the largest and most detailed Latin dictionary, and it covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.
Its content is identical to the printed version, including all lexicon articles, enhanced with De Gruyter’s database features. TLL is based on the print dictionary of the same name, and it serves as a tool for both research and teaching preparation.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
This platform brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek.
EAGLL is addressed to a variety of readers: to linguists, to scholars of classics, and to those who are interested in the history of linguistic ideas in antiquity and the structure of the Ancient Greek language. It is a research tool for scholars of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
JSTOR
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995 in New York City, United States. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals.
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
Trismegistos
Trismegistos includes several databases. At the core is Trismegistos Texts, which provides information about texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian, but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages.
In addition to Trismegistos Texts, it comprises a number of other sections including, Collections, Archives, People and Places.
To meet licensing requirements, refer to the section Referring to Trismegistos in General or Some of its Sections when citing content from this resource

JSTOR
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995 in New York City, United States. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals.
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
Online Egyptological Bibliography
This database contains a large collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the records and abstracts from Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB, 1947-2001), combined with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA, 1822-1946), and the Aigyptos database with keywords.
OEB is the successor of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB). It was compiled from Bibliographie Altägypten (1822 -1946), the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (1947-2001), and the Aigyptos website (ca. 1980-2011), as well as thousands of recent and older items that have been entered directly. By default, the system searches the entire database, including abstracts -where available-, and displays the most recent result first. Coverage: 1822 to present.
Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives
The database is the result of a collaborative project initiated in 2000, and it is designed to enhance the study of the ancient Near East’s culture and history.
The site contains a variety of key resources. ABZU -available since 1994- presents data relating to the study of the ancient Near East and ancient Mediterranean world. Core Texts contains digitised texts, for teaching and research of the ancient Near East. eTACT is a repository for translations of Akkadian materials. ETANA’s Archaeological Projects aim to preserve archaeological data from excavations and allow search across sites.
Trismegistos
Trismegistos includes several databases. At the core is Trismegistos Texts, which provides information about texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian, but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages.
In addition to Trismegistos Texts, it comprises a number of other sections including, Collections, Archives, People and Places.
To meet licensing requirements, refer to the section Referring to Trismegistos in General or Some of its Sections when citing content from this resource

JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
A source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. The Library subscribes to the Standard Collection, not the full Premium Collection.
ScienceDirect
A platform of peer-reviewed literature built on quality, interdisciplinary research. It helps find answers to research questions, and gain insights into trending research topics.
Note that there are some titles that we do not subscribe to. Journal coverage is from the first volume for most titles, but just from 1995 for The Lancet and a few other Academic Press titles. We have access to Elsevier's 'Freedom Collection' titles and a few subscribed titles outside of this collection. We have full text access to the 2000-2008 Veterinary Medicine collections. ScienceDirect also hosts ejournals for other publishers, but we do not have access to those (e.g. American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Psychological Association, Anderson Publishing Ltd, CRC Press).
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Updated daily, Scopus covers nearly 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, including coverage of 16,500 peer-reviewed journals and 3.6 million conference papers.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) is the Thomson Reuters database platform that provides access to the combined online versions of Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-current), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-current)
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

Archaeology Magazine
A publication of the Archaeological Institute of America
British Library digitised manuscripts
Includes 600 digitised Greek manuscripts
The British School at Athens
A research centre which promotes research of international excellence in all disciplines pertaining to Greek lands, from fine art to archaeometry and in all periods to modern times.
Council for British Archaeology
Latest news and resources from the Council for British Archaeology
Heritage Gateway
Search for information on England's historic sites and buildings, including images of listed buildings.
Historic England
Historic England are the public body that looks after England's historic environment. The website includes research, heritage news and practical advice for conservation.

When using information from websites you must be careful to critically evaluate the contents - be mindful of authority and relevance.

Perseus Digital Library
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes Primary and Secondary Sources for the study of Ancient Greece and Rome, and an Art and Archaeology Artifact browser
Theoi Greek Mythology
The Theoi Project profiles each deity and creature of Greek Mythology on a separate page, incorporating an encyclopedia summary, quotations from a wide selection of ancient Greek and Roman texts, and illustrations from ancient art. The Theoi Classical Texts Library contains an extensive collection of classical literature on the theme of Greek mythology, including the works of many of the lesser known poets which are not available online elsewhere.
UNESCO
News, publications and media resources.

Database of Latin Dictionaries
A collection of historical, semantic, and etymological dictionaries offering tools to understand Latin texts of various genres, periods, countries, or regions.
The aim of this dictionary project is to present new techniques of research for consulting dictionaries and various lexica, both modern and ancient. The project covers both single-language dictionaries and multilingual ones.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
This platform brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek.
EAGLL is addressed to a variety of readers: to linguists, to scholars of classics, and to those who are interested in the history of linguistic ideas in antiquity and the structure of the Ancient Greek language. It is a research tool for scholars of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.

Encyclopædia Iranica
The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Jacoby Online
This database contains the First and Second Editions of Brill’s New Jacoby, as well as Parts 1 to 5 of Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker.
Jacoby is short for die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (FGrHist, or FGrH), a collection of ancient Greek historic texts that were lost, except for citations, extracts and summaries found in other sources. Most of these fragments are attributed to an author and/or work in the source text, but some remain anonymous. Most entries in Jacoby Online focus on a lost author, but some entries contain anonymous fragments on an era or region.
New Pauly Online
This is the English edition of Der Neue Pauly, which is the authoritative modern reference work for the ancient world, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996.
Sections on antiquity are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. The section on classical tradition is concerned with the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.
Online Egyptological Bibliography
This database contains a large collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the records and abstracts from Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB, 1947-2001), combined with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA, 1822-1946), and the Aigyptos database with keywords.
OEB is the successor of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB). It was compiled from Bibliographie Altägypten (1822 -1946), the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (1947-2001), and the Aigyptos website (ca. 1980-2011), as well as thousands of recent and older items that have been entered directly. By default, the system searches the entire database, including abstracts -where available-, and displays the most recent result first. Coverage: 1822 to present.
Oxford Reference
An online reference product, spanning twenty-five different subject areas, bringing together digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
This database consists of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. We subscribe to the Premium Collection which offers indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works, including information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series. We also subscribe to the Literature and Western Civilization collections.

Supplementum epigraphicum graecum
A collected bibliography of books and articles on aspects of Greek epigraphy, as well as summaries of Greek inscriptions.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
A research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
TLG’s goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. It contains lexica, such as the Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English lexicon, Cunliffe's Lexicon of Homeric Greek, Powell's Lexicon of Herodotus and the Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität (LBG). You must register for an individual account the first time you use TLG. Follow the link to the resource, select “Register” in the top right corner. Register using your University of Liverpool email address.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
This database contains the largest and most detailed Latin dictionary, and it covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.
Its content is identical to the printed version, including all lexicon articles, enhanced with De Gruyter’s database features. TLL is based on the print dictionary of the same name, and it serves as a tool for both research and teaching preparation.