This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Copy of Leisure reading and wellbeing: Wellbeing

Looking for urgent support?

If you or someone else are in immediate danger, dial 999.

If you feel unsafe on campus, call Campus Support 0151 794 2222

If you need someone to talk to urgently you can call the Samaritans any time day or night on 116123

Introduction

Welcome to your University library wellbeing guide.

We are living in unprecedented and rapidly changing times. University life can be challenging even at the best of times! If you are here, you have probably already learnt that looking after your physical and emotional wellbeing is just as important as your studies, so this guide is here to help you do just that.

If you would like to know about the wide range of wellbeing and support services your University has to offer, as well as others that they recommend, or if you are looking for online and physical self-helps books and wellbeing resources to help you live your best life and find balance, you have come to the right place!

How your university is here for you

Student Services

University of Liverpool Student Services are here to offer you comprehensive welfare services, online and on campus, providing advice, guidance and  support, as well as a selection of online self-help resources and information on a wide range of non-academic issues. 

Whatever help you need during your time at University, they are here for you.

Self-help library

Student Services also have self-help pages containing information and videos on everything from anxiety to sleep and suicidal thoughts. 

This range of resources is designed to support you in helping yourself to manage issues before they escalate. You may find what you need here, or at the very least a place to start. It may be comforting to think that the very fact that such resources exist is proof that whatever you are experiencing, you are not the first and you are not alone.

Student Health

The on campus Student Health Centre is run by Brownlow Health who produced a handy guide, "Student mental health resources".

Liverpool Guild of Students

Your University Guild also offer support and advice on a wide range of issues, detailed within their advice pages.

Health Assured

Health Assured offer students a free, confidential advice line, with help available to talk through any problem, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

The helpline is confidential. Qualified counsellors and advisors understand the pressures of student life, and are there to help anyone who needs it. Sometimes, simply talking through your issues with someone, in the moment, can be a great relief. 

Call the 24/7 helpline for free: 0800 028 3766

My Healthy Advantage App

The Student Assistance Programme offers a range of free support services which you can access through the My Healthy Advantage app, providing holistic health and wellbeing support at the tap of a finger anywhere and anytime.

Download the app free from Google Play or the App Store.

Enter the user code: Wellbeing

Enter the password: TeamHopeTile20.

It will then ask you to create your unique log in data.

Some of the features you can access are:

  •     Support videos and webinars
  •     Mood tracker
  •     Four-week programmes
  •     Home life support and advice
  •     Work life assistance
  •     Physical and emotional health
  •     Mini health checks
  •     Life support
  •     Medical information. 

Employee Assistance Programme (EAP)

The University has a confidential counselling and information service available 24/7 for staff.

The Employee Assistance Programme is available to assist with personal or work-related problems that may be affecting your health, wellbeing or performance. 

The following services are available to University of Liverpool staff:

  • Short-term telephone/online counselling support - up to six sessions per concern
  • Online vClub Information and resources 
  • Presentation of EAP services to individual teams or departments 
  • Child and elder information
  • Debt counselling
  • Physical health and wellbeing support
  • Financial information
  • Legal information
  • Signposting to specialist agencies

vClub

In addition to hosting the Employee Assistance Programme, Validium also have an online service "vClub".

vClub offers a number of online services to users including information sheets, videos, self-help guides and access to e-counselling via email.

Please note that the e-counselling service will not provide an immediate response. It could take up to 48 hours. If you need more immediate help please call 0800 3 58 48 58.

To access vClub, go to validium.com and login using the details below (please type them in and do not copy and paste).

Username: UoL
Password: EAPsupport‌

Once you have created an account, the resources are also available via the My vClub app. Simply search 'My vClub' on your app store.

EAP for Managers

The Employee Assistance Programme has a dedicated support line for managers. To access the Manager support line dial 0800 3 58 48 58 and select 5.

The support line provides:

  • Guidance when assisting staff with their problems
  • A sounding board for managers
  • Help with responding to the early warning signs of stress
  • Support in developing skills
  • The opportunity to refer staff to other Validium services

More information and related resources are available at Validium Manager's Support.

Wellbeing Hub

There is also a dedicated Wellbeing Hub for University staff with links to information and resources which can be accessed on or off campus. Information and resources relate to physical and mental health as well as to personal and professional development and supporting your team and colleagues at work.

Networks and Groups

There are also a wide variety of established staff networks and groups offering peer support, shared experience and guidance: 

Networks

Groups

Other resources

The University subscribes to several external wellbeing and mental health resources and services which, although they are promoted to the student body, are also available to university staff.

Similarly, there are a number of trusted external bodies providing wellbeing and mental health support which the University recommends to the student body. Again, these organisations are often available to and equally beneficial for university staff. 

Take a look at the External and local Support tab to the right of this one for more information and lots of handy links, as well as some information about local resources recommended by Liverpool, Wirral and Knowsley Councils.

Liverpool Guild of Students

Your own Liverpool Guild of Students have collated a wonderful collection of links to and information about external resources to support you with a wide range of issues.

Livewell

The Livewell Directory has been collated by Liverpool, Knowsley and Wirral Councils and is an excellent resource detailing local wellbeing and mental health organisations as well as a wide range of other forms of support and advice.

National Health Service (NHS) resources

NHS Every Mind Matters has excellent resources to support mental health and wellbeing. 

With an emphasis on the benefits of good mental health for all aspects of life and a strong sense of the relationship between physical health and wellbeing and mental health and wellbeing, they provide information and advice on a wide range of issues, such as:

Coronavirus:

  • How to deal with change and uncertainty
  • Going back school or college
  • Tips to cope with anxiety about coming out of lockdown

Understanding Mental Health, giving insight into:

  • anxiety
  • sleep
  • stress
  • low mood

They also offer general Wellbeing tips as well as more personalised content via Get Your Mind Plan.

Neurodiversity celebration week 2022

The Faculty of Health and Life Sciences is excited to be supporting Neurodiversity Celebration Week for the first time during the week of March 21st-27th 2022 with a range of online and in-person events.

Wellbeing workshops

Student Services often schedule workshops and events to help you navigate student life and promote positive mental health. Upcoming events are detailed on their "What's on" and "Wellbeing Workshops" pages.

How your library is here for you

Our philosophy

We believe the key to wellbeing is the care and balance of different aspects of our lives. With this holistic approach, library staff have curated a collection of insightful books and e-books to support the different parts of your wellbeing. Topics include:

  • mental health
  • self-growth
  • physical activity
  • relationships
  • mindfulness

eBooks and audiobooks

You can access our selection of eBooks and audiobooks using Overdrive or the Libby App.

In this digital platform, the library offers a variety of topics including Transgender Visibility, Anti-Racism, and yes, you've guessed right: wellbeing.

To access Overdrive, you have two options:

  1. Go to Overdrive
  2. Download the Libby App from Google Play or the Apple Store, search for the University of Liverpool and log in with your library account details.

Physical books

If you prefer traditional books, we have a print collection in the wellbeing area of each of the on-campus libraries.

Library catalogue

You can use our Library Catalogue to browse the collection before you visit and to reserve any titles which are currently out on loan. Simply search for "wellbeing collection".

Harold Cohen Library

The Harold Cohen Library wellbeing area, wellbeing book stand, seating and noticeboard.

In the Harold Cohen Library this is located on the ground floor. After you swipe through the entrance gates, turn right and continue past the exit gates. You will see the wellbeing book stand ahead of you.

Alternatively, if you turn left after you pass through the entry gates you will also find the our Leisure reading area, featuring regularly changing book displays from our vast main collection and often showcasing topical selections and titles which have been long or short-listed for famous book prizes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sydney Jones Library

The Sydney Jones Library wellbeing area, wellbeing book stand and noticeboard.In the Sydney Jones Library the wellbeing area is located on the ground floor link. After you swipe through the entrance gates, turn right and continue past the printers and the loanable laptop safes. The wellbeing area is on your right before you enter the Grove Wing.

 

Spotify playlists

Music can have a profound impact on your mood. Whether you are looking for soothing sounds to help you relax or driving drumbeats to get you through your exercise routine, look no further.

The following content was chosen by students at University of Liverpool.