Library: Earth, Ocean & Ecological Sciences: Home

Liaison Librarian

Clair Sharpe

she/her

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Chemistry, Earth, Ocean and Ecological Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Planning

Welcome to your library

Databases and Resources for Earth, Ocean & Ecological Sciences

GeoRef
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world.
It contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
Lyell Collection: Geological Society Publications
Created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, this database represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature.
It is named after Charles Lyell, the nineteenth-century geologist whose work included the influential book, Principles of Geology, and the establishment of the Principle of Uniformitarianism. The online collection comprises the society’s journal titles, special publications and book series, and journals published on behalf of other societies.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

GeoRef was established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, providing access to the geoscience literature of the world. It is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year.
The Lyell Collection created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single electronic platform.
Scopus is a broadly based database: good for interdisciplinary subjects, searching for authors and tracking down citations. Its interface is flexible and easy to use.
Web of Science also provides broad coverage and good author and citation searching. It includes Science Citation Index, Index to Conference Proceedings and Journal Citation Reports.

The Earth and Ocean Sciences books can mostly be found in the Silent Study Room and on the Ground Floor Rear of the Harold Cohen Library: building number 431 on the Campus map (PDF).