Library: Education:

Liaison Librarian

she/her

Contact:

My role is Head of Learning Development & Academic Skills, and I’ve been at the university since 2001. I co-ordinate the library learning and teaching support delivered via the KnowHow academic skills programme. I enjoy working with colleagues to ensure that resources and skills development opportunities are woven throughout our programmes to enhance the student learning experience.

I’m based in the Sydney Jones Library, but I work in a hybrid way and can meet you online or in person at a coffee shop of your choosing!

Subjects: Education

Databases for Education

BoB
This is a Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education, which allows staff and students to record programmes; and search the archive of broadcasts.
BoB (formerly Box of Broadcasts or BoB National) is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The first time you use BoB you will be prompted to enter an email address to use the MyBoB Playlist facility.
BoB is usually only available to users on the UK mainland. However, the Library is participating in a pilot project which now allows some BoB content to be made available to overseas students. Further details can be found at FAQ .
ERIC
- This link opens in a new window
A database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources; an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
It provides access to education literature to augment education by facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, and educational decision-making. Coverage: 1966 to present.
SAGE Research Methods
A methods library containing books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.
It supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

Cambridge Journals
A platform for academic content from Cambridge University Press containing over one million journal articles.
Cambridge University Press publishes peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology, and medicine. We have access to most of their content back to volume one.
Directory of Open Access Journals
A community-curated online directory that provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The platform contains quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. DOAJ is a community-driven, and its focal point is open access publishing.
HighWire
Division of the Stanford University Libraries producing online versions of peer-reviewed journals and scholarly content.
It specialises in academic and scholarly publications and hosts a large archive of Open Access journals, and many more that provide free access after an embargo period (typically 12 months).
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995 in New York City, United States. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals.
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
SAGE Journals
This database contains journals from a wide range of disciplines. SAGE publishes journals in subject areas, such as business, humanities, social sciences, and medicine.
You can browse the journal platform for the latest top downloaded articles, special issues, and full journal portfolios from the available disciplines. We have access to most SAGE journals, and the coverage is from Volume 1, in most cases.
Taylor and Francis Online
This platform hosts peer-reviewed journals and articles. You can explore its content by browsing the wide range of subject areas or using the search function.
We subscribe to the Social Sciences and Humanities Collection but only to a small number of the science and engineering journals (not their Science & Technology Collection). 'New launch' journals are available for the first two years, but we lose access from year three. We have purchased the journal backfiles in behavioral science; business, management and economics; geography, planning, urban and environment; politics, international relations & area studies; and strategic, defence and security studies.

SAGE Research Methods
A methods library containing books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.
It supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.