Library: Electrical Engineering:

Liaison Librarian

Zelda Chatten

she/her

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mathematical Sciences, Physics

Databases and resources for Electrical Engineering & Electronics

IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database of IEEE journals & conference, IET conferences and IBM journals. Provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer sciences and electronics
The content of this online publishing platform comprises of annual conferences, eBooks, eJournals, and technical standards. We have full-text access to all IEEE eJournals, conference proceedings, standards, and eBooks, IET conference proceedings, and to the IBM journal backfiles. IEEE journals now typically offer full text back to the first volume.
Compendex
- This link opens in a new window
Hosted by Engineering Village this is the largest and most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database available
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for interdisciplinary subjects, searching for authors and tracking down citations
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Knovel
Interactive e-book and database platform which gives fully searchable online access to hundreds of science and engineering publications
It can be browsed by title or searched by keyword, and physical and chemical properties can be searched by numeric value. It includes interactive tables, graphs and equations which can be retrieved, and exported.
SPIE Digital Library
Provides access to an extensive range of optics and photonics research
Technology areas covered in the Proceedings of SPIE include astronomy and astronomical optics, biomedical optics, and medical imaging, communications and information technologies, defence and industrial sensing, electronic imaging and processing, micro and nano technologies, optics and electro-optics.
Google Scholar
A simple way to search for scholarly literature
When using this link to access Google Scholar, you will see “is it @ Liverpool” next to the results. Selecting ''Is it @ Liverpool' will provide you with a link to access the article (if University of Liverpool Library has an active subscription to that content).

BSOL Standards Online
Includes the full text of all current and withdrawn British Standards
We have access to the ‘Unadopted ISO’ module: International Organization for Standardization is an independent membership organization and developer of voluntary International Standards. ISO has published International Standards covering industries from technology to food safety, agriculture, and healthcare. ISO also contains ISO pending adoption.
For information on accessing British Standards off-campus, please visit this Library Help page.
To be able to download PDFs from BSI, users need to install FileOpen on their device. Visit this link for further information
ASTM Compass
Includes access to the full collection of standards from ASTM
The platform contains the current and historical ASTM standards and related technical engineering publications, including several ASTM journals and ASTM Symposia Papers and Special Technical Publications, and manuals. It contains nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM.
Espacenet
A free online service for searching worldwide patents and patent applications, developed by the European Patent Office (EPO)
It enables you to search for information on published patent documents from more than 70 countries and regions. The database contains those patent documents which were published by the European Patent Office (EPO) in the last two years, but it does not contain any patent applications submitted to a national patent office.

For more links and information about standards and patents go to Standards & Patents

Most Electrical Engineering books are in the basement of the Harold Cohen Library. Find the location of books using Library Search.

Class Number	Subject
TK	Electrical Engineering
TK 301	Electric meters
TK 452	Electric circuits. Electric networks
TK 1001	Production of electric energy or power
TK 2000	Dynamoelectric machinery
TK 2896	Production of electricity by direct energy conversion
TK 3001	Distribution or transmission of electric power
TK 4001	Applications of electric power
TK 4125	Electric lighting
TK 4601	Electric heating
TK 5101	Telecommunication
TK 7800	Electronics
TK 7885	Computer engineering. Computer hardware
TK 8300	Photoelectronic devices
TK 9001	Nuclear engineering. Atomic power