Library Guides: Management School:

Liaison Librarian

Liam Kaye

Contact:

I am based in the Sydney Jones library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Economics, Finance & Accounting, Marketing and Operations, Organisation and Management

Databases and resources for the Management School

Business Source Complete
Academic business database providing access to content in all disciplines of business.

It contains material from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review and it includes sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full-text coverage extends back as far as 1886.
D&B Hoovers
Worldwide company information.

This commercial database provides company data, business records, and analytics to enable sales and marketing professionals to generate growth for their business.. D&B Hoobers provides real-time alerts, news, and custom notification options, searching of additional data including company profiles, basic financial information, list of directors and main competitors.
Emerald Insight
Business and management journals, e-books and case studies.

The University of Liverpool has access to the full Emerald EMeJ Plus collection of business and management journals, the Emerald engineering journals collection, and the Emerald backfiles (from volume 1).
Fame
Company information covering the UK and Ireland.

You can use FAME to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and for analysis. It covers millions of companies in the UK and Ireland: many are available in a detailed format or in a summary format.
Gale Business: Insights
Explore global companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and journal articles

from over 4,000 full-text publications including newspapers, trade journals, magazines, and peer-reviewed academic journals
GlobalData Explorer
provides access to market insights, company intelligence & macroeconomic data

covering 22 industries and 10 sub-sectors. GlobalData Explorer includes the content previously provided by Marketline, plus access to a wider range of content, including over 13,000 curated reports written by sector experts. Users can explore, track and compare industries, economies and companies in a single platform.
IBIS World
provides trusted industry research on thousands of industries in the UK, USA, Australia, New Zealand & Canada.

It leverages economic, demographic and market data and adds analytical and insight, to help organizations of all types make better business decisions
Mintel Reports
Market data including market size, market share and segmentation information.

Consumer research, sales data, market information and analysis, context and commentary provide the complete picture of the past, present and future of key markets. Also available is a daily news services, information on product launches and economic and demographic information. Coverage: The last two years. Note: You can visit the following training videos by selecting the title: Mintel Reports, and Mintel Interactive Databooks.
Passport
Market reports, company profiles and information on consumer and lifestyle profiling.

Passport includes country statistics, market reports, company profiles, international perspectives and historical data with future forecasting, plus additional modules, such as countries, country insights, global consumer trend monitoring, future demographics, and industry watch.

Business Source Complete
This database features full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.

It contains material from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review and it includes sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full-text coverage extends back as far as 1886.
EconLit
An authoritative index published by the American Economic Association, which provides bibliographic coverage for economic research citations and abstracts.

Literature covered is of interest to researchers, academics, product managers, advertisers, product development specialists, and public policy professionals. EconLit includes information that is of relevance to industries and research establishments. Coverage: 1969 to present.
Emerald Insight
This database includes journals, books, and case studies in a range of subject areas, including accounting and finance, education, management, marketing, information studies and engineering.

The University of Liverpool has access to the full Emerald EMeJ Plus collection of business and management journals, the Emerald engineering journals collection, and the Emerald backfiles (from volume 1).
Google Scholar
A platform, which provides a simple way to look for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources, such as articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions.

When using this link to access Google Scholar, you will see “is it @ Liverpool” next to the results. Selecting ''Is it @ Liverpool' will provide you with a link to access the article (if University of Liverpool Library has an active subscription to that content).
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.

Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology. It contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index with no embargo.
Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).
O'Reilly for Higher Education: Academic Edition
This platform gives access to over 50,000 ebooks, videos, case studies, learning paths, expert playlists, and more from O’Reilly and other publishers

Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management, graphic design and business strategy.
O'Reilly Learning Platform (video tutorials and online learning for technology, business and computer science)
provides a range of on-demand educational computing, technology and business skills videos and webinars which

University of Liverpool users do not need to register a personal account on the platform to access the video and other content

BoardEx

An international corporate governance database, which contains current and historical biographical information on most board members and senior executives, board committees, compensation, company details, company network, director network, and job announcements.
Fame
Company information covering the UK and Ireland.

You can use FAME to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and for analysis. It covers millions of companies in the UK and Ireland: many are available in a detailed format or in a summary format.
D&B Hoovers
Worldwide company information.

This commercial database provides company data, business records, and analytics to enable sales and marketing professionals to generate growth for their business.. D&B Hoobers provides real-time alerts, news, and custom notification options, searching of additional data including company profiles, basic financial information, list of directors and main competitors.

Gale Business: Insights
Explore global companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and journal articles

from over 4,000 full-text publications including newspapers, trade journals, magazines, and peer-reviewed academic journals
GlobalData Explorer
provides access to market insights, company intelligence & macroeconomic data

covering 22 industries and 10 sub-sectors. GlobalData Explorer includes the content previously provided by Marketline, plus access to a wider range of content, including over 13,000 curated reports written by sector experts. Users can explore, track and compare industries, economies and companies in a single platform.
IBIS World
provides trusted industry research on thousands of industries in the UK, USA, Australia, New Zealand & Canada.

It leverages economic, demographic and market data and adds analytical and insight, to help organizations of all types make better business decisions
Mintel Market Sizes
Market data including market size, market share and segmentation information.

Previously called Global Market Navigator, this resource provides easy to compare, extractable market data. Records consist of market size, market share and segmentation data, along with supporting trend forecasts.
Mintel Reports
Market reports covering beauty and personal care, health and wellbeing, food and drink, media and technology

Consumer research, sales data, market information and analysis, context and commentary provide the complete picture of the past, present and future of key markets. Also available is a daily news services, information on product launches and economic and demographic information. Coverage: The last two years. Note: You can visit the following training videos by selecting the title: Mintel Reports, and Mintel Interactive Databooks.
Mintel Trends
Users must agree to abide by Mintel's terms & conditions when accessing the site.
By tracking trends, analysing and interpreting consumer behaviour, Mintel Trends helps you understand changes in culture, markets and brands

'Consumer Trends' and 'Observations' are available from the homescreen. To access 'Trend Drivers' use the link on the Mintel toolbar header
Passport
Market reports, company profiles and information on consumer and lifestyle profiling.

Passport includes country statistics, market reports, company profiles, international perspectives and historical data with future forecasting, plus additional modules, such as countries, country insights, global consumer trend monitoring, future demographics, and industry watch.

Bloomberg
A specialist database which provides access to financial data such as equities, commodities, foreign exchange, and price indices. It is available via the McKenzie Trading Room in the Management School. See link for more information.

Bloomberg provides worldwide coverage of business and financial news. The stock search box permits viewing detailed charts, historic pricing, volume, company news, and various financial indicators, such as relative strength, stochastics, and trend lines. The media content is drawn from Bloomberg's TV station and radio programs.

IMF Data and Statistics
International economic data compiled by the International Monetary Fund

OECD
An online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.

Formerly OECD iLibrary, the OECD.Org platform is open access from 1st July 2024. It offers content published by the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

Forecasts for the UK Economy
Forecasts for the UK economy is a monthly comparison of independent forecasts.
UN Comtrade
Global trade data.
World Bank - Documents and Reports
65000 World Bank documents and reports.

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services

This database provides business intelligence, data analytics, and research platform to global institutions, enabling historical analysis, and insight into the latest innovations in academic research

WRDS is a data subscription service provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. It gives users access to several companion databases under the Wharton Research Data Services. WRDS is only available for staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students in the University of Liverpool Management School. Undergraduates do not normally get access over the summer holiday but can request access over this period for assignment/exam resits. You need to register for an account at: https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/

Bloomberg
Bloomberg is a specialist business and finance database. Click on the link for more details and how to access.

Bloomberg provides worldwide coverage of business and financial news. The stock search box permits viewing detailed charts, historic pricing, volume, company news, and various financial indicators, such as relative strength, stochastics, and trend lines. The media content is drawn from Bloomberg's TV station and radio programs.
Bloomberg Training Portal
provides access to video tutorials and cerificated training series on the Bloomberg database. Users must register as follows

Users will be required to agree to Bloomberg’s Terms of Service and Privacy Policy
To register go to Bloomberg Training Portal
Click ‘Register Now’
Select ‘Sign Up’
Select ‘Learner’ and create an account using your University of Liverpool email address
When prompted select the free option for access associated with the University of Liverpool. You will receive a verification email to confirm your access.

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
IMF Data and Statistics
International economic data compiled by the International Monetary Fund
NOMIS
Official labour market statistics

OECD
Data and analysis from the OECD.

Formerly OECD iLibrary, the OECD.Org platform is open access from 1st July 2024. It offers content published by the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

ONS - Office for National Statistics
UK's largest independent producer of official statistics. Publishes statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local levels.

SportBusiness
Formerly known as SportBusiness University, SportBusiness.com provides access to news, insight and research in the field of sport-related business

Content includes news stories, analysis of research in sports business, profiles of sports employers, webinars and podcasts, analysis and interviews from global sport and data visualisations showcasing key sports, markets or rights-holders
Statista
A statistics portal that provides data on topics including consumer goods, technology, the internet, travel, and tourism.
Before using this resource review the General Terms & Conditions

It provides students, faculty, and researchers with a time-saving tool for researching quantitative data and statistics. Although primarily aimed at students in the Management School, this resource is also useful for anyone trying to find data or statistics. All statistics, infographics and reports can be downloaded in a variety of formats including PNG, PDF, and PPT.

UN Comtrade
Global trade data.

UK Data Service
UK social and economic data.

Funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), it provides access to local, regional, national and international social and economic data; it gives support for policy-relevant research in the higher education, public and commercial sectors; guidance and training for the development of skills in data use. Data users can browse UK Data Service collections online and register to analyse and download them.

UK Economy statistical releases
Official statistics about the UK economy

Research and Statistics (GOV.UK)
A resource for all those seeking the latest statistics from government departments in the UK, and a website for hosting all first releases of National Statistics.

Data classed as National Statistics provide an up-to-date description of the UK's economy and society. The database also provides links to statistical products and publications that are not classed as National Statistics. You can access past and present statistical releases. In addition, you can find information about when future statistical releases are going to be available.
World Bank Documents and Reports
65000 World Bank documents and reports.

The D&R site is an official disclosure mechanism for the World Bank Group’s final reports. It contains final and official documents and reports from 1946 through the present, including Board Documents (items concerning meetings of the Executive Directors); Country Focus (strategic priorities and directions for lending activities); Economic and Sector Work (background studies); Project Documents; Publications and Research.
WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services

This database provides business intelligence, data analytics, and research platform to global institutions, enabling historical analysis, and insight into the latest innovations in academic research

WRDS is a data subscription service provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. It gives users access to several companion databases under the Wharton Research Data Services. WRDS is only available for staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students in the University of Liverpool Management School. Undergraduates do not normally get access over the summer holiday but can request access over this period for assignment/exam resits. You need to register for an account at: https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/

FT Financial Market data - Financial Times market data and news.
FTSE Indicators - FTSE Russell, a leading global index provider.
DOW Jones financial markets indicators - Dow Jones Indices, providing a wide range of global equity benchmarks.
BBC Financial Market Data - Financial news and market data from the BBC.
Wall Street Financial Market Data - Market data and news from the Wall Street Journal.
Bloomberg Financial Market Data - Real-time financial data, news, and analysis from Bloomberg.
Reuters Financial Market Data - Global financial news and market data from Reuters.
London Stock Exchange - Official website of the London Stock Exchange.
NASDAQ - The Nasdaq stock exchange.
New York Stock Exchange - The New York Stock Exchange.

Sharia-Compliant Indicators

DOW Jones Islamic Market Indicators - Dow Jones Islamic Market Indices, providing a range of Sharia-compliant investment benchmarks.
FTSE Sharia Index - FTSE Sharia Index, a family of indices that adhere to Islamic finance principles.
FTSE NASDAQ Dubai Index Series - A series of indices tracking the performance of companies listed on the Nasdaq Dubai exchange.
FTSE Bursa Malaysia Hirjah Shariah and EMAS Shariah indices - Sharia-compliant indices for the Malaysian stock market.
FTSE SET Shariah Index - Sharia-compliant index for the Thailand stock market.
FTSE/JSE Shariah indices - Sharia-compliant indices for the Johannesburg Stock Exchange.
FTSE SGX Shariah Index Series - Sharia-compliant indices for the Singapore Exchange.
FTSE Sharia Developed Minimum Variance Index - A Sharia-compliant index designed to minimize volatility.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
European research theses.

DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). It offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications.
EThOS e-Theses Online Service
UK doctoral theses.

EThOS aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers and it helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Worldwide theses and dissertations.

It assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge to unlock the potential benefits worldwide. It also supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship to enhance the sharing of knowledge.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Includes UK, Irish and global dissertations and theses.

A digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and a database of record for graduate research. It includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present, and full-text dissertations that are available for download. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997, and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. The resource also includes PQDT UK and Ireland content.

CFA Program Curriculum (Charterered Financial Analysis Institute/ CFA)

The CFA (Chartered Financial Analysis Institute) Program Curriculum 2020 Level I Volumes 1-6 Box Set provides readers with the official curricula received by all CFA program candidates. The Box Set includes the Candidate Body of Knowledge (CBOK) with concise instruction on all 10 topic areas covered by the CFA Program.

PMBOK/ Project Management Body of Knowledge (Project Management Institute/ PMI)

APM Body of Knowledge (Association for Project Management/ APM)

APM Body of Knowledge E-Book

BSO/ ISOs (International Standards) for professional accreditation

BBC Monitoring

The resource contains news alerts, reports, roundups, insights, programme summaries, and reference sections with biographies. New alerts provide key developments on major stories, as they happen and programme summaries feature comprehensive summaries of television and radio programmes, with detailed timeline and key topics covered.
Economist
A source of insight, analysis and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance and science and technology.

The website provides access to all the articles from the print edition, as well as web-only content such as blogs, debates, and audio-visual programmes, complete with a searchable archive. Coverage: 1997 to present.
FT.Com
An international daily newspaper that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
To access the content, you will need to set up your own individual login.
To register as a first-time user, visit How do I access the Financial Times online to see the instructions.
If you have already registered, go directly to ft.com and select the link to sign in.
For further information, view this How to use FT.com video.
By accessing FT.Com, users are agreeing to adhere to both FT.Com terms and conditions and Copyright Policy.
Access to FT.com is provided for educational and teaching purposes only.
Scraping content from FT.com for computational analysis is outside the scope of the licence held with FT. "Computational analysis" is defined as any processing of content using LLMs, generative AI or other forms of AI analysis. This restriction applies to all projects, including dissertations, and all FT content should be deleted from personal computers if it has been scraped for this purpose.

This London-based newspaper provides a broad range of information, news, and services for the global business community.
Note: you will find the Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2016) as a separate database entry.
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.

The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is updated daily and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Gale Primary Sources: The Economist Historical Archive, 1843–2020
This archive provides a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020.

Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlight a key topic of each week. These all combine to offer a source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage: 1843-2020.
Gale Primary Sources: Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
This archive provides the complete searchable run of the Financial Times daily business newspaper.

Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added. The online facsimile contains the complete run of the London edition from its first issue through 2010 (part 1) and through 2016 (part 2).
Gale OneFile: News
This Gale resource provides access to major UK regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

You can access UK and international newspapers online; search articles by title, headline, date, or other fields. Use Gale NewsVault to search the Gale newspaper archives. Included are the historical archives of Financial Times, Illustrated London News, Times and Sunday Times, Times Literary Supplement, Economist, Daily Mail, Listener and Picture Post, as well as British Library Newspapers 1732 - 1950, and 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.

Newspapers A-Z
You can find a full list of newspaper databases on this link.

SportBusiness
Formerly known as SportBusiness University, SportBusiness.com provides access to news, insight and research in the field of sport-related business

Content includes news stories, analysis of research in sports business, profiles of sports employers, webinars and podcasts, analysis and interviews from global sport and data visualisations showcasing key sports, markets or rights-holders

Alexander Street Press
Alexander Street Press includes a wide range of video and multimedia across a number of academic disciplines.

BoB
BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels.

BoB (formerly Box of Broadcasts or BoB National) is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The first time you use BoB you will be prompted to enter an email address to use the MyBoB Playlist facility.
BoB is usually only available to users on the UK mainland. However, the Library is participating in a pilot project which now allows some BoB content to be made available to overseas students. Further details can be found at FAQ .
Henry Stewart Talks: Business and Management Collection
This collection is a multimedia resource for teaching and learning containing lectures, case studies and interviews.

The collection contains specially prepared, audio-visual lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry, the professions, and academia. All lectures and case studies are suitable for inclusion in courses and as additional learning material including in blended learning and flipped classroom programmes.
Kanopy
This platform provides access to a collection of films. Movies range from award-winning documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics, training films, and theatrical releases.

Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films, and educational videos that inspire, and entertain. To be able to start watching the content on Kanopy, you need to sign up with your university login.

Finding Information - Tutorial which explains how to form a search strategy and find high quality academic sources on your topic.

Financial Times News

BBC Business News

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

Library

Management School:

Welcome