Library: Medicine:

Liaison Librarian

Louise Minta

she/her

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library. Please contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine

Databases and Resources for Medicine

ERIC
- This link opens in a new window
A database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources; an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
It provides access to education literature to augment education by facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, and educational decision-making. Coverage: 1966 to present.
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
A platform of peer-reviewed literature built on quality, interdisciplinary research. It helps find answers to research questions, and gain insights into trending research topics.
Note that there are some titles that we do not subscribe to. Journal coverage is from the first volume for most titles, but just from 1995 for The Lancet and a few other Academic Press titles. We have access to Elsevier's 'Freedom Collection' titles and a few subscribed titles outside of this collection. We have full text access to the 2000-2008 Veterinary Medicine collections. ScienceDirect also hosts ejournals for other publishers, but we do not have access to those (e.g. American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Psychological Association, Anderson Publishing Ltd, CRC Press).

Zetoc
more...less...
Zetoc provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings published per year.
WHO International Classification of Diseases

BioDigital Human
BioDigital Human is a medically accurate, virtual map of the human body—composed of over 8,000 individually selectable 3D anatomical structures, 600 simulated health conditions, and a toolkit to map and visualize data.
more...less...
Creating your BioDigital Account

To create your account, access BioDigital Human and click ‘Get Started’.

To register as a first-time user, select the Create Account option.

Use your University of Liverpool email address to register with and create a password.

Please note that by creating an account, you are agreeing both to the BioDigital Human Terms of Service and BioDigital Privacy Policy Ensure you familiarise yourself carefully with these terms prior to accessing the resource.

Use the Sign In option on subsequent visits to the BioDigital Human platform

To use the app version of BioDigital Human, users must first create an account on the desktop platform.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This Video Atlas is a human anatomical learning tool, which enables a three-dimensional look at anatomy. The images are video recordings of real human anatomic specimens.
The resource consists of five volumes, which can be divided into the following subject areas: upper extremity, lower extremity, trunk, head & neck, and internal organs. The content can be searched by anatomical regions and parts, as well as by the A-Z index. Throughout each program there are review sections that let you test yourself.
Anatomy.tv This resource features 3D computer-generated models of the human anatomy.
The information in Anatomy.tv is divided into sections, such as 3D Atlas, 3D Real-time, Functional Anatomy, Clinical Specialties, Therapy, Language Editions, Other Products, and Quizzes and Activities. Users may manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing the accompanying text.

Visible Body
more...less...
Visible Body provides a comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Access Visible Body via the desktop link if you are using a PC or Mac. See the information box on the Learning Resources tab for app details.

NHS Health A to Z
Healthtalk.org healthtalk.org provides free, reliable information about health issues, by sharing people's real-life experiences. You can watch people sharing their stories about cancer, autism, motor-neurone disease, pregnancy, drugs, depression and much more.
NICE Guidelines
Health on the Net Foundation (HON) The Health On the Net Foundation (HON) promotes and guides the deployment of useful and reliable online health information, and its appropriate and efficient use. Created in 1995, HON is a non-profit, non-governmental organization, accredited to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations. For 15 years, HON has focused on the essential question of the provision of health information to citizens, information that respects ethical standards. To cope with the unprecedented volume of healthcare information available on the Net, the HONcode of conduct offers a multi-stakeholder consensus on standards to protect citizens from misleading health information.
Healthline Provides information on health conditions, medication and well-being.
Patient.co.uk
Electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC) The electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC) contains up to date, easily accessible information about medicines licensed for use in the UK. The eMC has more than 10,600 documents, all of which have been checked and approved by either the UK or European government agencies which license medicines. These agencies are the UK Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) and the European Medicines Agency (EMA).
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information.
Diagnostic Tests Diagnosic tests listed on the MedlinePlus web site
Digitised Diseases Digitised Diseases features human bones which have been digitised using 3D laser scanning, CT and radiography. The photo-realistic images of 3D bones can be viewed, downloaded and manipulated on a computer, tablet or smartphone.

Concise Medical Dictionary
This dictionary covers all aspects of medical science and terminology. Written by a team of medical experts, it has been fully revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the latest in medical knowledge and practice.
eBook for Undergraduate Education in Radiology
This eBook is a project developed by the Education Committee and the Undergraduate Education Subcommittee of the European Society of Radiology. It has been created to serve medical students, as well as residents in their first year(s) of training, to understand radiology as a whole coherent discipline.
Mind the Gap: A handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skin
Mind the Gap is a clinical handbook of signs and symptoms in Black and Brown skin. The aims of the project were to highlight the lack of diversity in medical literature.
Skin Deep
Skin Deep is led by the international medical education team, Don’t Forget the Bubbles (DFTB) and the Royal London Hospital (RLH). The aim is to develop a free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones for use by both healthcare professionals and the public.