Library: Physics:

Liaison Librarian

Zelda Chatten

she/her

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mathematical Sciences, Physics

Databases and Resources for Physics

Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for interdisciplinary subjects, searching for authors and tracking down citations
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic science focused database that provides a comprehensive citation search.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).
IOPscience
Provides access to content published by IOP.
The resource allows you to customize alerts, save articles of interest, and view newly published articles within your subject areas. We have access to subscribed titles, the NESLi2 collection, and two backfile packages. IOP also provides free access to some journals (namely, current Open Access titles and some ceased titles that have had their toll access barriers removed).
Google Scholar
A simple way to look for scholarly literature.
When using this link to access Google Scholar, you will see “is it @ Liverpool” next to the results. Selecting ''Is it @ Liverpool' will provide you with a link to access the article (if University of Liverpool Library has an active subscription to that content).

arXiv
An open archive of preprints in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology and finance.
The topic areas of the arXiv scholarly articles include physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
INSPIRE HEP
Open access digital library for the field of high energy physics (HEP).
Previously known as SPIRES, this database is the successor of the Stanford Physics Information Retrieval System database, the main literature database for high energy physics since the 1970s. It comprises interlinked databases on literature, conferences, institutions, journals, researchers, experiments, jobs, and data.

CERN Document Server
CDS is a searchable institutional repository of documents developed at CERN.

IOP
The Institute of Physics aims to advance physics for the benefit of all.
Physics World
From the IOP, communicating physics research and innovation
Physical Reference Data
Data from the US National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
The laws list
Laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants & experiments in physics
PhysLink
Physics and astronomy online education, research and reference
The Physics Classroom
Simple physics

Physics and Astrophysics books are all on Ground Floor Rear of the Harold Cohen Library. Find the location of books using Library Search.

Class Mark	Subject
QB	Astronomy
QB 275	Geodesy
QB 349	Theoretical astronomy and celestial mechanics
QB 455	Astrogeology
QB 460	Astrophysics
QB 468	Non-optical methods of astronomy
QB 495	Descriptive astronomy
QB 980	Cosmology
QC	Physics
QC 120	Descriptive and experimental mechanics
QC 170	Atomic physics
QC 176	Solid state physics
QC 221	Acoustics
QC 251	Heat
QC 350	Optics
QC 474	General radiation physics
QC 501	Electricity and magnetism
QC 770	Nuclear and particle physics
QC 801	Geophysics
QC 811	Geomagnetism
QC 851	Meteorology

Databases for Physics subjects

Compendex
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index and abstracts bibliographic database of engineering research.
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
Knovel
An interactive e-book platform, which contains engineering data, technical references, and hundreds of science and engineering publications.
It can be browsed by title or searched by keyword, and physical and chemical properties can be searched by numeric value. It includes interactive tables, graphs and equations which can be retrieved, and exported.

Astrophysics Data System
ADS is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
It maintains three bibliographic databases containing millions of records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full text of astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the search form. ADS tracks citations and usage of its records to provide discovery and evaluation capabilities. Coverage: Varies by journal title, but at least from 1975 to present.

PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
This database comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. To create an NCBI account and to access PubMed, click ‘Log in’ on the top right-hand side of the resource website. On the next page select ‘more login options’. Now type University of Liverpool, select it and when prompted, enter your MWS login credentials.
Available online since 1996, PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Citations in PubMed primarily stem from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The database does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text might be present when available from other sources.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
This platform covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
MEDLINE is a biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is updated daily, and it offers bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals. It contains records with the following possible status besides MEDLINE: Publisher, In-Data-Review, In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM. Coverage: 1948 to present.
Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Due to licensing restrictions this is available to users in England only
In addition to Cochrane Reviews, Cochrane Library provides other sources of information, such as other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Only available to users in the United Kingdom.
BMC
This database provides access to peer-reviewed journals in biomedical research including titles such as BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Malaria Journal, Microbiome, and BMC Series.
Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC offers a wide portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform. It shares discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
BIOSIS Citation Index (1969 - present)
- This link opens in a new window
An index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Subject coverage includes traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology. For items published from 2006 forwards, cited references are fully indexed from BIOSIS sources. Coverage: 1969 to present.

GeoRef
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world.
It contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
GeoScienceWorld
A non-profit collaborative resource for research and communications in the Earth Sciences.
GSW works with institutions, and researchers around the world and provides a single source of access to scholarly journals, eBooks, and GeoRef records with specialized and map-based search capabilities and links to curated earth science research.

CERN Document Server
CDS is a searchable institutional repository of documents developed at CERN.

INSPIRE HEP
An information platform for High Energy Physics (HEP) literature, which provides users with content covering the entire corpus of HEP literature, authors, data, jobs, conferences, institutions and experiments.
Previously known as SPIRES, this database is the successor of the Stanford Physics Information Retrieval System database, the main literature database for high energy physics since the 1970s. It comprises interlinked databases on literature, conferences, institutions, journals, researchers, experiments, jobs, and data.

MathSciNet
A platform, which provides access to a searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
MathSciNet contains direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from articles dates to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles, and reviews is provided. Coverage: early 1800s to present.