Sociology, Social Policy & Criminology: Home

The definitions and explanations of the key concepts are written by scholars in the field. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics. This resource provides materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also includes more recent developments.

Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students. Cambridge Core is central for academic research and it is the place to find inspirational research and academic information.

The scholarly research monographs are in major subject areas of law, business, economics, and the social sciences. The handbooks in social sciences provide surveys of important areas across economics, law, business and management and social and political science. This database also contains reference works, such as companions, dictionaries, and encyclopaedias.

It examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; issues of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy, and society.

Each Handbook offers in-depth articles by leading scholars. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve. Monthly updates introduce articles in advance of print publication ensuring the most current, authoritative coverage.

We have access to ebooks in the following 17 subject areas: biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, and sociology.

Organized alphabetically, this publication covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and statistical techniques. There are two types of entries: definitions consisting of a paragraph or two to provide a brief explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays that discuss the nature, history, applications, and implications of using a certain method, including suggested readings.

The Taylor & Francis Group is an international company originating in England that publishes books and academic journals. eBooks published by Taylor & Francis (including imprints CRC Press and Routledge) cover a wide range of subjects. Note that full text access is only available to titles purchased by the University.

Cambridge University Press publishes peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology, and medicine. We have access to most of their content back to volume one.

The archives of magazines serving LGBT+ communities are of importance for research into LGBT history, being the sources for the documentation of gay cultures, lives, and events. Researchers consulting these publications may trace the history and evolution of aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature. The archives of 26 magazines are included in LGBT Magazine Archive, including many of the influential publications of this type.

The Virtual Library provides access to all known OJP works and sponsored research, as well as to thousands of government products, research reports, journal articles, and published and unpublished literature produced through 2014.

Oxford University Press publishes quality journals and delivers research to a wide audience. It works closely with its society partners, authors, and subscribers to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs. We have access to most OUP journals, and in most cases access starts from Volume 1.

You can browse the journal platform for the latest top downloaded articles, special issues, and full journal portfolios from the available disciplines. We have access to most SAGE journals, and the coverage is from Volume 1, in most cases.

Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.

We subscribe to the Social Sciences and Humanities Collection but only to a small number of the science and engineering journals (not their Science & Technology Collection). 'New launch' journals are available for the first two years, but we lose access from year three. We have purchased the journal backfiles in behavioral science; business, management and economics; geography, planning, urban and environment; politics, international relations & area studies; and strategic, defence and security studies.

The resource contains news alerts, reports, roundups, insights, programme summaries, and reference sections with biographies. New alerts provide key developments on major stories, as they happen and programme summaries feature comprehensive summaries of television and radio programmes, with detailed timeline and key topics covered.

Select "University of Liverpool" as your institution from the dropdown list. You may need to authenticate your subscription using your University credentials.
Returning Users: Visit BFI Player Sign In and log in to your BFI account using your University email address.

Please Note: all users need to re-subscribe every year. Visit BFI Player Academic Registration and select 'Already have an account? Sign in'. Once you have logged in with the username and password set up last year you will need to select "University of Liverpool" as your institution from the dropdown. It may be necessary to authenticate your subscription using your University credentials.

This service allows access to items in the Subscription (Purple label) section of the BFI player - it does not provide access to items in the Rental (Red label) section. Films available on BFI Subscription are determined by BFI and may only be available for a limited time.

BoB (formerly Box of Broadcasts or BoB National) is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The first time you use BoB you will be prompted to enter an email address to use the MyBoB Playlist facility.
BoB is usually only available to users on the UK mainland. However, the Library is participating in a pilot project which now allows some BoB content to be made available to overseas students. Further details can be found at FAQ .

The Daily Express, also called Express, is a morning newspaper published in London and it is known for its thorough coverage of international events. Coverage: 1900 to present.

The website provides access to all the articles from the print edition, as well as web-only content such as blogs, debates, and audio-visual programmes, complete with a searchable archive. Coverage: 1997 to present.

This archive constitutes primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains to related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies. Coverage: 1910 – 2015.

You can access UK and international newspapers online; search articles by title, headline, date, or other fields. Use Gale NewsVault to search the Gale newspaper archives. Included are the historical archives of Financial Times, Illustrated London News, Times and Sunday Times, Times Literary Supplement, Economist, Daily Mail, Listener and Picture Post, as well as British Library Newspapers 1732 - 1950, and 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.

The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. As well as the regular edition of the newspaper, this database also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the cruise ships that sailed between New York and Southampton from 1923 to 1931.

Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added. The online facsimile contains the complete run of the London edition from its first issue through 2010 (part 1) and through 2016 (part 2).

Picture Post’s innovative use of photojournalism captured the imagination of the British people. In the era before television, it became the window on the world, bringing the social and political issues of the day into consciousness. This resource provides a snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things.

Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlight a key topic of each week. These all combine to offer a source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage: 1843-2020.

The Sunday Times launched on 20th October 1822. Since its first issue, the newspaper has provided analysis and commentary on the week's news and society. Murder, theatre, sport, and politics-all collide in its pages in an abundance of colourful detail. This Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers, and culture of the last 180 years.

This historical archive allows you to search this newspaper online in its original published context. The Times has offered readers coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, and coverage of major international historical events.

One of the longest-running men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The archive makes available editorial content and photography, providing insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.

It offers detailed coverage, with focus on investigation of unreported cases and rapid review and analysis of legal documents and policy developments. It also contains investor-state claims, enabling subscribers to monitor particular cases or arbitrators, and to research developments in a chosen country, treaty-regime, or time-period.

Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films, and educational videos that inspire, and entertain. To be able to start watching the content on Kanopy, you need to sign up with your university login.

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.

It operates digital editions of newspapers and magazines for publishers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post and The Globe and Mail. You can download and save titles to read offline. We have access to content from the last 90 days from thousands of UK and International newspapers and magazines.

Originally known as the Manchester Guardian, the Guardian was a Saturday-only paper until the newspaper stamp duty was repealed in 1855. The Observer, the world's oldest Sunday paper, was first published in 1791. Writers such as George Orwell, Vita Sackville-West, Clive James, Philip Toynbee, and others were contributors, continuing a tradition of freedom of the press and providing coverage of politics and literature. Coverage: 1791 - 2003.

This data service is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) to meet the data needs of researchers, students, and teachers from all sectors. Census Data is based at the UK Data Archive. Access is via the UK Federation login, but an online registration form needs to be completed.

Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs, and interactive features. Topics covered include crime, shopping, dance, popular music, sport, reading, ethnic minorities, family planning, health, and cinema. It is recommended for historians, literary scholars, sociologists, anthropologists, and political scientists. Coverage: 1937-1967 & 1981 - 2009

The Virtual Library provides access to all known OJP works and sponsored research, as well as to thousands of government products, research reports, journal articles, and published and unpublished literature produced through 2014.

Organized alphabetically, this publication covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and statistical techniques. There are two types of entries: definitions consisting of a paragraph or two to provide a brief explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays that discuss the nature, history, applications, and implications of using a certain method, including suggested readings.

It supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), it provides access to local, regional, national and international social and economic data; it gives support for policy-relevant research in the higher education, public and commercial sectors; guidance and training for the development of skills in data use. Data users can browse UK Data Service collections online and register to analyse and download them.

Parliamentary Papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy and provided a forum for the ideas of thinkers of the day. With the core content of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers and House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, the digitization of the Parliamentary Papers of the UK Parliament has made this resource a research destination for everything associated with parliamentary research.

It offers detailed coverage, with focus on investigation of unreported cases and rapid review and analysis of legal documents and policy developments. It also contains investor-state claims, enabling subscribers to monitor particular cases or arbitrators, and to research developments in a chosen country, treaty-regime, or time-period.

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.

DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). It offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications.

EThOS aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers and it helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.

A digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and a database of record for graduate research. It includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present, and full-text dissertations that are available for download. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997, and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. The resource also includes PQDT UK and Ireland content.

It assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge to unlock the potential benefits worldwide. It also supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship to enhance the sharing of knowledge.

This archive constitutes primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains to related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies. Coverage: 1910 – 2015.

This digital collection supports studies in domestic and foreign policy and provides unique opportunities for undergraduate and graduate comprehensive research in a rich primary source. In addition, U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides basic research for journalism, public policy studies, international law and security, and other disciplines

This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.

T