This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation
 

Library during lockdown: Home

Using the Library during the national lockdown

This page was last updated 18/01/20

Service availability in the libraries has changed in line with government and University guidance in response to the national lockdown.

Study Spaces

The University is currently only providing study space for students who require essential access to study spaces or IT resources that they cannot access from home.

Students who are able to study from home or in their accommodation should do so and avoid travelling to campus.

  • The Harold Cohen Library remains open 8am – 11pm, 7 days a week with limited availability. You should only visit the Library if it is essential to do so and you must book a study space before you visit.

Opening hours are subject to change in response to any changes in circumstances or new guidance that we receive.

  • Students will be able to book up to 20 hours per week (Sun-Sat) in the Library.
  • Spaces can be booked up to 48 hours in advance and will only be made available on the booking system 48 hours before.
  • Study spaces in the Sydney Jones Library are now closed and the building is only open for book collections through Click & Collect.
  • Alternative study spaces are available on campus 8.45am - 5.15pm, Monday - Friday. View all locations and book your space.
  • You can book an individual study space but group study is not permitted, even with members of your household or bubble.

Printing

Printing services are available in the Harold Cohen Library and the School of Law and Social Justice building. You must book a space in advance before visiting to use printing services. 

You can also use Print Anywhere to send your documents to print from your personal laptop or PC, even if you are off campus before you visit the library to reduce length of your visit.

Accessing Resources

Online Resources

Although the Library is currently open for essential use only, there are plenty of ways to access resources online.

Click & Collect

The Click & Collect service continues to run with collection from the Sydney Jones Library only, 11am – 4pm Monday - Friday, to provide essential access to copies that are not available online.

This service is available for essential access to items from both the Harold Cohen and the Sydney Jones libraries.

Books can be returned to the book return box in the Harold Cohen Library 7 days a week or to the Sydney Jones Library Monday - Friday. 

Book and Copy Delivery

The Book and Copy Delivery Service is a means by which the Library will post books held in stock and copies of journal articles or book chapters directly to your home or work address.

Health and Safety

Please remember that you should minimise contact with others and only use physical facilities when it is absolutely necessary. Our libraries and other student services offer a wide range of services online, which will help you to avoid unnecessary travel.

If you need to visit the Library, you must take personal responsibility for adhering to all public health measures including wearing a face covering at all times (unless exempt), maintaining a safe distance from others and washing your hands regularly.

Food and Drink

We are temporarily prohibiting eating within the Library, however drinking is still permitted. This is to reduce the number of occasions that users are required to remove their face coverings during visits. We advise that, if you must visit the Library, you plan your visit around meal times or make alternative arrangements to eat outside of the Library.

All safety measures are in place to protect our staff and students and we will not tolerate any non-compliance.

Academic Support

KnowHow provides online academic support throughout the year to help you to succeed in your studies. Sessions include topics such as Preparing for Assessments, Academic Writing, Presentations and more.

The Liaison Librarian for your subject can also offer specialist support and advice for your subject. Book an online appointment with a Liaison Librarian through our appointments booking calendar

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives will close to visitors from Thursday 14th January. For more information visit Special Collections & Archives.

Contact us for help and support

You can contact the library team 24/7 by emailing library@liverpool.ac.uk or contact us on Library chat.

For further information and updates from the University visit the University Coronavirus Safety pages.

Useful Resources

Library News

Search Online Resources

KnowHow Academic Support

Subject Specific Support

Contact Us for Help and Support

KnowHow Workshops