This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

News

Use Library resources online in your own time

by University of Liverpool Library on 2020-10-19T13:44:00+01:00 | Comments

Student studying using a laptop

We know that at the moment many of you may not be able to, or may not want to, visit the libraries, and that’s ok. We have plenty of online resources to support your studies, teaching, and research, and our online collections continue to grow.

Did you know that as a student or member of staff at the University of Liverpool, you have access to over 900,000 e-books and 130,000 e-journals 24/7 wherever you have an internet connection?

In order to support your online learning, we have also added around 2,000 new e-books to our collections and provided key and recommended texts as e-books as far as possible to make your learning easier, including 90 new e-textbook titles.

How to access online resources

  • DISCOVER - Access e-books and electronic articles by using the DISCOVER search tool on the Library homepage.
  • Library catalogue - Access the Library's collection of e-books and online journals via the Library Catalogue.
  • E-journals - Search the e-journals available to you via the Library homepage.
  • Databases – Databases can be filtered and searched by subject, database type and database provider. We have recently subscribed to lots of new digital content including JoVE video content with transcripts such as JoVE Core Biology and JoVE Lab Manual Biology, which provide incredibly useful videos on a wide range of topics and support the new blended learning way of learning and studying.
  • Reading lists – If you’re looking for the recommended reading for your subject, find the texts quickly and easily by searching your module reading list.
  • Subject guides – Search your subject guides for useful reading for your subject area or contact the Liaison Librarian for your subject for support and advice about where to look.
  • Kopernio – This free browser extension tool works automatically to connect you with content that the Library has paid for without requiring you to login to publisher websites or other systems. It’s great if you prefer not to start your research on the Library website.
  • Newspapers - We aren’t currently able to provide print newspapers in the libraries, but we do have lots of online access to various newspapers including Contemporary, Historical and Financial newspapers.
  • Get It For Me - Don’t forget, if we don’t have the resource you need, you can request a digital copy using our Get It For Me service. Just complete the request form to let us know what you need!

Although face-to-face support in the Libraries is no longer available, we are still here online to support you with any queries or issues you may have. Find out how to get in touch.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Library News
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...