Library: Management School: Case studies

Case studies

Case studies are often used as part of teaching to illustrate management problems. They can be fictitious or be based on a real life scenario and describe what happened to a business or industry.

BBC Company News

Find case studies in databases

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
This database features full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
It contains material from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review and it includes sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full-text coverage extends back as far as 1886.
Emerald Insight
This database includes journals, books, and case studies in a range of subject areas, including accounting and finance, education, management, marketing, information studies and engineering.
The University of Liverpool has access to the full Emerald EMeJ Plus collection of business and management journals, the Emerald engineering journals collection, and the Emerald backfiles (from volume 1).

Financial Times
Browse case studies here. You will need to register to access these resources. For information on how to access FT.com, see our FAQ.

MarketLine
- This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find worldwide company, industry, and country reports along with product intelligence, business strategy, news, and opinion.
MarketLine covers every major industry and marketplace in the world. It provides access to sector-specific intelligence, real-time news, powerful analytics, and time-saving workflow and collaboration tools.
SAGE Business Cases
This database provides a collection of global case studies covering a wide range of business and management subjects.
Academic staff requiring access to Sage Business Cases Teacher Notes, should contact the Liaison Librarian for Business and Management.
SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. It provides faculty, students, and researchers with access to these authoritative cases. The business and management subjects covered by the case studies include accounting, entrepreneurship, human resource management, marketing, and strategic management.

Finding Case Studies

Openly accessible case studies

Case studies providers that charge a fee

There are many other providers of case studies online but they often charge a fee. These cases are not usually made available to libraries, but can be purchased by individuals.

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Management School: Case studies