Library: Engineering: Home

Liaison Librarian

Zelda Chatten

she/her

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mathematical Sciences, Physics

Liaison Librarian

Clair Sharpe

she/her

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Chemistry, Earth, Ocean and Ecological Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Planning

Library training calendar

Databases for Engineering

Compendex A comprehensive index and abstracts bibliographic database of engineering research.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
Scopus An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

Compendex via Engineering Village is the largest and most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database available. You can search by keywords or author names to find references to journal articles and conference papers on your subject from 1969 onwards.
A guide to Searching Compendex and importing results to EndNote is available.
It is possible to download EndNote Desktop onto your own PC or laptop.
Download available from the IT Services software downloads service.

Scopus is a broadly based database: good for interdisciplinary subjects, searching for authors and tracking down citations. Its interface is flexible and easy to use.

Web of Science also provides broad coverage and good author and citation searching. It includes Science Citation Index, Index to Conference Proceedings and Journal Citation Reports.

Compendex A comprehensive index and abstracts bibliographic database of engineering research.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
ESDU This database contains a collection of engineering design guides. It provides validated design methods, data and software tools covering a wide range of engineering disciplines.
It provides collective knowledge of hundreds of engineers and include data and information that in many cases are unpublished and only available to ESDU. Every data item issued by ESDU represents a consensus from experts in their field.
IEEE Xplore This digital library is a resource for the discovery of scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Also included are IET Conference Proceedings and IBM journal backfiles
- This link opens in a new window
The content of this online publishing platform comprises of annual conferences, eBooks, eJournals, and technical standards. We have full-text access to all IEEE eJournals, conference proceedings, standards, and eBooks, IET conference proceedings, and to the IBM journal backfiles. IEEE journals now typically offer full text back to the first volume.
ScienceDirect A platform of peer-reviewed literature built on quality, interdisciplinary research. It helps find answers to research questions, and gain insights into trending research topics.
- This link opens in a new window
Note that there are some titles that we do not subscribe to. Journal coverage is from the first volume for most titles, but just from 1995 for The Lancet and a few other Academic Press titles. We have access to Elsevier's 'Freedom Collection' titles and a few subscribed titles outside of this collection. We have full text access to the 2000-2008 Veterinary Medicine collections. ScienceDirect also hosts ejournals for other publishers, but we do not have access to those (e.g. American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Psychological Association, Anderson Publishing Ltd, CRC Press).
Scopus An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

ASCE Library A full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications, offering online access to technical and professional papers.
The resource includes all ASCE journals with coverage from 1995 to present; and the complete ASCE conference papers published from 2003 to present.
BSOL Standards Online Updated daily, the site provides full-text access to British and adopted European and International standards. This online tool features standards, such as ISO, EN, BS, PAS, ASTM, and IEC.
We have access to the ‘Unadopted ISO’ module: International Organization for Standardization is an independent membership organization and developer of voluntary International Standards. ISO has published International Standards covering industries from technology to food safety, agriculture, and healthcare. ISO also contains ISO pending adoption.
For information on accessing British Standards off-campus, please visit this Library Help page.
To be able to download PDFs from BSI, users need to install FileOpen on their device. Visit this link for further information
Compendex A comprehensive index and abstracts bibliographic database of engineering research.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
ICE Virtual Library Books This database is an eBook collection in civil engineering, the titles encompass the range of publications required by academics and practitioners.
Established in 1836, ICE Publishing is a provider of information for researchers and practitioners worldwide in the fields of civil and environmental engineering and materials science. The collection contains a wide range of journals, archives and books that provides a reference point for industry and academia and make up a comprehensive civil engineering portfolio.
ICE Virtual Library Journals This Institution of Civil Engineers resource contains a comprehensive civil engineering portfolio of journal collections, which captures the dialogue between academic and industry research-partners.
Established in 1836, ICE Publishing is a provider of information for researchers and practitioners worldwide in the fields of civil and environmental engineering and materials science. The collection contains a wide range of journals, archives and books that provides a reference point for industry and academia and make up a comprehensive civil engineering portfolio.
ACI Collection of Concrete Codes, Specs and Practices ACI Collection Online contains the American Concrete Institute documents required to answer questions about code requirements, specifications, tolerances, concrete proportions, construction methods, evaluations of test results, and many more topics.
This database provides the largest single source of information on concrete design, construction, and materials. It presents historical codes and specifications; IN-LB and SI Unit codes, specifications, and practices, including guides and reports. The website enables title or full text search using single words or phrases.
ScienceDirect A platform of peer-reviewed literature built on quality, interdisciplinary research. It helps find answers to research questions, and gain insights into trending research topics.
- This link opens in a new window
Note that there are some titles that we do not subscribe to. Journal coverage is from the first volume for most titles, but just from 1995 for The Lancet and a few other Academic Press titles. We have access to Elsevier's 'Freedom Collection' titles and a few subscribed titles outside of this collection. We have full text access to the 2000-2008 Veterinary Medicine collections. ScienceDirect also hosts ejournals for other publishers, but we do not have access to those (e.g. American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Psychological Association, Anderson Publishing Ltd, CRC Press).
Scopus An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

ASM Handbooks Online The industry's most comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology, providing trusted information in every area of materials engineering.
The collection provides authoritative data on the properties, processing, and applications of metals and non-metallic engineering materials. The Handbooks have been key resources for materials engineering since 1923. From 1936 to 1990, the series was known as Metals Handbook. In 1991, the name changed to ASM Handbook. This database features the complete content of ASM Handbook volumes and ASM Desk Editions.
ASTM Compass A collection of standards and technical engineering information. The resource covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
The platform contains the current and historical ASTM standards and related technical engineering publications, including several ASTM journals and ASTM Symposia Papers and Special Technical Publications, and manuals. It contains nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM.
Compendex A comprehensive index and abstracts bibliographic database of engineering research.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
ScienceDirect A platform of peer-reviewed literature built on quality, interdisciplinary research. It helps find answers to research questions, and gain insights into trending research topics.
- This link opens in a new window
Note that there are some titles that we do not subscribe to. Journal coverage is from the first volume for most titles, but just from 1995 for The Lancet and a few other Academic Press titles. We have access to Elsevier's 'Freedom Collection' titles and a few subscribed titles outside of this collection. We have full text access to the 2000-2008 Veterinary Medicine collections. ScienceDirect also hosts ejournals for other publishers, but we do not have access to those (e.g. American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Psychological Association, Anderson Publishing Ltd, CRC Press).
Scopus An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

ASTM Compass A collection of standards and technical engineering information. The resource covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
The platform contains the current and historical ASTM standards and related technical engineering publications, including several ASTM journals and ASTM Symposia Papers and Special Technical Publications, and manuals. It contains nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM.
Compendex A comprehensive index and abstracts bibliographic database of engineering research.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
IEEE Xplore This digital library is a resource for the discovery of scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Also included are IET Conference Proceedings and IBM journal backfiles
- This link opens in a new window
The content of this online publishing platform comprises of annual conferences, eBooks, eJournals, and technical standards. We have full-text access to all IEEE eJournals, conference proceedings, standards, and eBooks, IET conference proceedings, and to the IBM journal backfiles. IEEE journals now typically offer full text back to the first volume.
Journal of Fluid Mechanics JFM is an international journal and it is an essential reading for those concerned with developments in fluid mechanics. It publishes articles covering theoretical, computational, and experimental investigations of all aspects of the mechanics of fluids.
Each issue contains papers both on the fundamental aspects of fluid mechanics and on their applications to other fields such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemical and mechanical engineering, hydraulics, materials, meteorology, oceanography, geology, acoustics, and combustion. Coverage: Vol. 1 (1956) to present.
Knovel An interactive e-book platform, which contains engineering data, technical references, and hundreds of science and engineering publications.
It can be browsed by title or searched by keyword, and physical and chemical properties can be searched by numeric value. It includes interactive tables, graphs and equations which can be retrieved, and exported.
ScienceDirect A platform of peer-reviewed literature built on quality, interdisciplinary research. It helps find answers to research questions, and gain insights into trending research topics.
- This link opens in a new window
Note that there are some titles that we do not subscribe to. Journal coverage is from the first volume for most titles, but just from 1995 for The Lancet and a few other Academic Press titles. We have access to Elsevier's 'Freedom Collection' titles and a few subscribed titles outside of this collection. We have full text access to the 2000-2008 Veterinary Medicine collections. ScienceDirect also hosts ejournals for other publishers, but we do not have access to those (e.g. American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Psychological Association, Anderson Publishing Ltd, CRC Press).
Scopus An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
SPIE Digital Library A resource on optics and photonics, providing access to technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings and ebooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present.
Technology areas covered in the Proceedings of SPIE include astronomy and astronomical optics, biomedical optics, and medical imaging, communications and information technologies, defence and industrial sensing, electronic imaging and processing, micro and nano technologies, optics and electro-optics.
SpringerLink Springer's online delivery platform, which provides access to peer-reviewed journals, book series, reference works, STM books, and protocols.
We have access to most Springer ejournals, including backfiles back to volume one. We can also access all their ebooks published from 2005 onwards, together with access to any available ebooks that were published between 1997 and 2004. Individuals can purchase a personal print-on-demand copy of almost all ebooks that we have purchased by following the MyCopy link on the book's page on SpringerLink.
Web of Science Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

Questions?

Get It For Me

Can't find the book or journal article you're looking for? Follow the link to get it for free!

LinkedIn Learning

FREE access for all University of Liverpool students and staff.

Find out more information.
Or sign up for your FREE account

My Liverpool App

The Library is in the My Liverpool app

The Library section of the My Liverpool App is the perfect tool to help you get the most out of your Library.

Get in and out of the Library
Book study spaces
Borrow books
View your borrowed books

Search for My Liverpool in Google Play or the App Store

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Engineering: Home

Liaison Librarian

Liaison Librarian

Library training calendar

Databases for Engineering

Questions?

Get It For Me

LinkedIn Learning

Find out more information.
Or sign up for your FREE account

My Liverpool App

Engineering: Home

Liaison Librarian

Liaison Librarian

Library training calendar

Databases for Engineering

Questions?

Get It For Me

LinkedIn Learning

Find out more information. Or sign up for your FREE account

My Liverpool App

Find out more information.
Or sign up for your FREE account