Spanning from Parliamentary papers, London daily news to the latest English humour of the 1600s, this collection covers more than two hundred years of accounts and it relates economic, political, and educational situations. They were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish, and Scottish papers, and some from the American colonies. The collection aids researchers chart the newspaper’s development from Parliamentary debate transcriptions to the newspaper in its current form. Coverage: 1619-1800.

Part I covers the commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain, based on collections of British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia, and National Library of South Africa. Part II looks at Britain’s role as an imperial power throughout the century, and contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. Coverage: 1800-1900

Ancestry Library includes census records; military records; court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. It provides access to historical documents, historical photos, local narratives, oral histories, and indexes in databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s.

It is essential for researchers focused on sexuality, and gender studies; health and hygiene; cultural change; LGBTQ studies; women's studies; American studies; civil and human rights; journalism; literature; social movement history; and British twentieth-century history. The database consists of the following four archives: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I and Part II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture.

Each title has a full citation record based on the English Short Title Catalogue and it is full-text searchable. Coverage: 1701-1800.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices, and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and include manuscripts, rare printed materials, letter books, periodicals, diaries, and photographs.

It enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents using multiple search options and research tools. The cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.

It forms part of the Routledge Historical Resources online programme that provides both academics and students with a research tool for studying the long Nineteenth Century through subject themes, such as Politics and Law, Religion and Belief, Education, Literature and Writings, Women at Home, Society and Culture, Empire, and Movements and Ideologies.

Parliamentary Papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy and provided a forum for the ideas of thinkers of the day. With the core content of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers and House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, the digitization of the Parliamentary Papers of the UK Parliament has made this resource a research destination for everything associated with parliamentary research.

The collection goes beyond the basic population reports with the textual and statistical material which provide a view of the economy, society (through births, deaths, and marriages) and medicine during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. These pages of census are supported by documents from The National Archives, critical essays, and transcriptions of legislation. OHPR has enabled browsing through the collection by date or geography, or searching the content directly.

Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs, and interactive features. Topics covered include crime, shopping, dance, popular music, sport, reading, ethnic minorities, family planning, health, and cinema. It is recommended for historians, literary scholars, sociologists, anthropologists, and political scientists. Coverage: 1937-1967 & 1981 - 2009

It brings together the sources from English, Irish, Scottish, and Colonial history with original manuscripts and web technologies. The collection is principally from the collections of governmental records of England, Scotland and Ireland published during the nineteenth century, such as the Calendar of Close Rolls, Calendar of Patent Rolls, and Calendars of State Papers, Domestic and Foreign. Phrase and keyword searches are displayed with accompanying text, and bibliographical information.

The collection allows students and researchers to conduct study into all aspects of migration, it tells the stories of individuals and families who risked everything to build new lives in North America and Australasia between 1800 and 1980. It enables you to explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers.

From missionaries to musicians, social workers to statisticians, cowboys to chemists, and Vikings to astronauts, the portraits reflect the diversity of American life from pre-colonial times to present day. ANB was originally published in 24 volumes in 1999 and then online in 2000. The online edition is updated semi-annually, and it contains illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, and links to web sites.

The Bibliography is a guide to the work of historians - it does not contain original sources unless they have been edited and republished by historians. It aims to be comprehensive for publications since 1900. Material is included irrespective of place or language of publication, although coverage is best for works published in Britain (and in Ireland during 1936-2006).

The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Oxford DNB was first published in 2004. Since 2005 updates have extended the Dictionary’s coverage, now including biographies of men and women who died in or before 2016. Oxford DNB online is updated regularly, extending coverage into the 21st century, whilst also adding new biographies across all historical periods.

It comprises numerous articles, which are classified by date, subject and location, and provide bibliographical records. IMB is a tool for medievalists to identify the contents of current work published throughout Europe, the Americas, and the Asia-Pacific region. Relevant research areas include classics, English language and literature, history and archaeology, theology and philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, history of education, art history, music, theatre and performance arts, rhetoric, and communication studies.

It helps researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to specific chapters, books, websites, archives, or data. Our subscription includes access to the African Studies, Atlantic History, Classics, Criminology, Geography, International Law, Linguistics, Military History, Political Science and Sociology modules. Perpetual access to the Victorian Literature module is also available. In each module, scholars have produced a guide to sources in an area of study. The guides feature bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult.

This database consists of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. We subscribe to the Premium Collection which offers indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works, including information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series. We also subscribe to the Literature and Western Civilization collections.

Spanning from Parliamentary papers, London daily news to the latest English humour of the 1600s, this collection covers more than two hundred years of accounts and it relates economic, political, and educational situations. They were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish, and Scottish papers, and some from the American colonies. The collection aids researchers chart the newspaper’s development from Parliamentary debate transcriptions to the newspaper in its current form. Coverage: 1619-1800.

It provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features publications from the political party newspapers to the dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Curriculum focus includes African American studies, arts and literature, civil rights, culture, genealogy, education, history, journalism, multidisciplinary, political science, religion, social sciences, sports history, and urban planning. Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing the newspaper, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, and cartoons. Coverage: 1893 – 1988.

Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. It includes newspapers from over twenty states and the District of Columbia. Coverage: 1690-1876.

Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlight a key topic of each week. These all combine to offer a source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage: 1843-2020.

Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added. The online facsimile contains the complete run of the London edition from its first issue through 2010 (part 1) and through 2016 (part 2).

It enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents using multiple search options and research tools. The cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.

Originally known as the Manchester Guardian, the Guardian was a Saturday-only paper until the newspaper stamp duty was repealed in 1855. The Observer, the world's oldest Sunday paper, was first published in 1791. Writers such as George Orwell, Vita Sackville-West, Clive James, Philip Toynbee, and others were contributors, continuing a tradition of freedom of the press and providing coverage of politics and literature. Coverage: 1791 - 2003.

It became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, the publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science). It covers a wide range of subject areas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, making it a resource for multi-disciplinary research. Subject areas include the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, science, medicine and progress, social history, sports, transport, and travel.

The archives enable research into Irish history both contemporary and modern, with legacy newspapers presented as they were printed in black and white full-page format and a current newspaper archive in colour PDF. Many of the newspapers are available from their first publication to current day.

Since its inception, The Irish Times has evolved from reflecting the views of its founder to becoming a politically and commercially independent newspaper. It has earned an international reputation as Ireland's daily newspaper. Each issue contains background analysis and assessment of the events of the day, and diversity of debate in the daily opinion columns. Coverage: 1859 - 2018.

The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. It was developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.

It provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the historical New York Times. Coverage: 1851 – 2016.

Picture Post’s innovative use of photojournalism captured the imagination of the British people. In the era before television, it became the window on the world, bringing the social and political issues of the day into consciousness. This resource provides a snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things.

Launched in 1855, by 1876 The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world. It was directed at a wealthy, educated readership. During the twentieth century, the Telegraph cemented its reputation as a pioneering yet reliable source of news reporting. The archive includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. It offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture.

This historical archive allows you to search this newspaper online in its original published context. The Times has offered readers coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, and coverage of major international historical events.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.

A resource for academics, researchers and anyone who wants to explore history as seen by the reporters and commentators. The newspaper pages can be viewed in thumbnail, small preview, full-size view, ready-to-print PDF, and page-by-page browse of the editions. It provides access to the full archive of the Daily Express (1900-current), Sunday Express (2000-current), Daily Star (2000-current) and Daily Star Sunday (2002-present)

BoB (formerly Box of Broadcasts or BoB National) is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The first time you use BoB you will be prompted to enter an email address to use the MyBoB Playlist facility.
BoB is usually only available to users on the UK mainland. However, the Library is participating in a pilot project which now allows some BoB content to be made available to overseas students. Further details can be found at FAQ .

DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). It offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications.

EThOS aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers and it helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.

It assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge to unlock the potential benefits worldwide. It also supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship to enhance the sharing of knowledge.

It powers research in academic, corporate, government, public and school libraries around the world with content, including academic databases, and technologies that connect people with information. This database contains subject areas, such as dissertations & theses, health & life sciences, humanities & social sciences, and contemporary & historical newspapers.