This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation
Special Collections & Archives closure 16-23 June

Special Collections & Archives: MS F.2.1: Bible, in Latinaccredited archive service logo

SC&A includes manuscripts and archives, medieval to modern; early and finely printed books, and science fiction collections.

LUL MS F.2.1: Bible, in Latin. Germany, mid 13th century.

Rylands bookplatePhysical description: On parchment. 380 leaves, 237 x 170 mm. Pricking visible in both margins. Imperfect.

Contents: 5 leaves missing. (Genesis, Kings, Lamentations, Baruch).

Decoration: Decorated initials in colours and gold; red and blue; and red. Style changes at f.174.

Binding: 19th century by Ramage, London.

Provenance 1450-1500: Ownership note (15th century) of the Praemonstratensian canonesses of Heinsberg, Rhineland.

Provenance 1845-1900: Bookplate of W. Harry Rylands (1847-1922).

Provenance 1900-1900: Thomas Glazebrook Rylands (1818-1900); bequest (1900): Rylands catalogue, pages 2-3.

 

Detail of MS F.2.1: Bible, in Latin
 

Published descriptions

  • 1900: John Sampson, A catalogue of the books ... bequeathed by the late Thomas Glazebrook Rylands ... to the Library of University College Liverpool (Liverpool: University Press, 1900).
  • 1983: N. R. Ker, Medieval manuscripts in British libraries (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1983).