This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Special Collections & Archives logo : Science Fiction Foundation Archive

SC&A includes manuscripts and archives, medieval to modern; early and finely printed books, and science fiction collections.

Science Fiction Foundation Archive

Contains a substantial amount of correspondence, covering the organization's history to date, plus typescripts of articles for Foundation as well as notices, agendas and minutes of meetings for the Foundation and the Friends of Foundation.

Founded in 1970 by George Hay, with Arthur C. Clarke and Ursula Le Guin as patrons, the Science Fiction Foundation is the leading British organization for the study of science fiction.

Since its inception, the Foundation has made a significant contribution to the promotion of science fiction. It has developed one of the world's largest repositories of science fiction material, organized many academic conferences, supported conventions and has promoted science fiction at all levels of education.

Furthermore, Foundation: the international review of science fiction has become one of the foremost critical journals of its kind.

Finding and using

There is no finding aid for the Science Fiction Foundation Archive, however the collection is coherent in its existing arrangement and may be used by researchers.

Access

All material in the collection is available to scholars for consultation in the University Library's Special Collections and Archives Reading Room by prior arrangement. Please refer to Visiting & using SC&A.

Related material

The Colin Greenland Archive contains a section of material regarding the Science Fiction Foundation. The Science Fiction Foundation Collection of books, periodicals and archival materials forms the mainstay of the science fiction resources at The University of Liverpool. Search the SF Catalogue for articles about the Science Fiction Foundation within the collection. See also the Science Fiction Foundation.

 customer service excellence