The Dumville collection of 21 manuscripts was donated in 2022 by Professor Clare Downham, from the collection of David Dumville, Professor Emeritus of Celtic & Anglo-Saxon at the University of Aberdeen. His previous academic posts include Professor of Palaeography and Cultural History at the University of Cambridge, 1995-2005.
The collection includes fragments from medieval and later books and documents in Hebrew, Latin, French and Dutch, including two with musical notation. These preliminary descriptions will be expanded as ongoing research on the collection enables fuller identifications to be made.
Physical Description1 leaf of MS and an additional strip used in binding. Remains of ties. '21' written on separate strip at front edge of upper board.
Binding: The fragments cover a single laminated paper board which has been cut to the height of the bookblock and endbands, folded around the bookblock and secured to it by lacing the sewing support slips through it. According to the Ligatus Language of Bindings Thesaurus this style of binding is particularly associated with France, and first appeared there in the last quarter of the 16th century.
Hebrew
Not known
Cuttings from a Hebrew manuscript, probably liturgical, used as binding material on a copy of: Epistolarum Hieronymi Bossii Ticinensis Libri V (1613)
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
18th century(?) inscription on front endpaper: "ex libris dott. Luigi Magnaghi".
2015: Listed for auction by Bloomsbury Auctions (Dreweatts).
Listing text: Fragment of a Hebrew manuscript on parchment, on the outside of a binding of Iulius Aresius, Epistolarum Hieronymi Bossii Ticinensis, Libri V (1613) [Italy, probably fifteenth century]. Two cuttings, from a large manuscript (probably liturgical), the larger with remains of 17 lines in a Hebrew cursive hand, the smaller a strip from the top of the same manuscript used to reinforce the edge of the front board, slightly scuffed and discoloured on outside at edges of later binding (but script still legible), overall in good condition.
2022: Reported to: ‘Books within Books’ Hebrew Fragments in European Libraries
Physical DescriptionBinding fragment in Latin. Written in 2 columns. Rubrication and alternating red and blue initials. Remains of alum tawed ties.
Latin and Italian
Not known
Bound volume contains manuscript sermons in Italian. With inscription: "Sermoni quatragesimali[?] fatta da me Martinelli saluatorio setempe dario[?] A.D. 1615".
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical Description1 volume. On paper. 2 blank leaves at end.
Bound in parchment over paper boards with alum-tawed ties.
Dutch
Bruges
Spine title in ink: De Wetten s'Lants van den Vryen
At head of first leaf: "Extraicten uÿt verscheÿde wettelÿke giften concernerende den commuÿne van St. Walburghe in Brugghe, ten overstaene van Schepenen van den vryen: berustende in de archiven door my A. vanden abeele p[res]b[yt]er capaellan van deselve kercke by een vergadert".
Entries dated 1234-1657
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
With thanks to Dr. Christian Cooijmans for providing information on this item.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 203 x 161 mm; folded to: 145 x 153 mm
Dutch
Not known
Written as 12 pages. Final leaf blank. 4o format.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical Description3 parchment leaves: 134 x 90mm; written area: 63 x 43mm
Latin
Southern Netherlands, probably Ghent: includes Saint Bavo (d.659), Saint Pharahildis (d.750), Saint Gudwal, Saint Armand (d.675, patron saint of Belgium) and Saint Winnoc.
Described on accompanying auction catalogue entry: as "Lot 18: Three leaves containing part of a Litany, from an illuminated Book of Hours, in Latin on parchment [southern Netherlands (probably Ghent), second half of fifteenth century." With further detail on the lettre bâtarde hand and decoration.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 157 x 113 mm; written area: 107 x 81 mm
Latin
Not known
25 lines to page; ruling above top line of text. No. 7 on enclosure. Initials in red and gold, with purple flourishing; gold decoration. Unoted.
Contains antiphons from the feast of the Prophets -
Recto:
Lines 1-4: Redemit dominus populum suum
Lines 4-5: Eritque anima eorum quasi hortus
Lines 5-6: A facie furoris tui deus
Lines 7-8: Converte nos domine ad te et
Lines 8-10: Fluctus tui super me transierunt
Lines 10-11: Abyssus vallavit me et pelagus
Lines 11-13: Indicabo tibi homo quid sit
Lines 13-15: Spera in domino et fac
Lines 15-16: Genti peccatrici populo pleno
Lines 16-17: Esto placabilis super
Lines 17-19: Qui caelorum contines thronos
Lines 19-21: Non enim in iustifacationibus nostris
Lines 22-24: Aspice Domine quia facta est
Line 24 – line 1 verso: Qui caelorum contines thronos
Verso
Lines 2-3: Muro tuo inexpugnabili
Lines 3-6: Susinuimus pacem et non
Lines 7-24 of verso from Ezekial, 1:5-1:12.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf (trimmed): 278 x 261 mm; written area: 243 x 202 mm
Latin
Not known
In 2 columns; pricking in both margins; probably used as binder's waste (glued on verso). Neumes on 4-line staves. Red & blue decoration; MS note in margin.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 301 x 207 mm; written area: 240 x 160 mm
Latin
Not known
Neumes on 4-line staves ruled in red, with text in black, with red capital strokes. '97' written in top corner (foliation?); ms note:" 1360 … gradual". Preface (& Canon?). Probably used as binder's waste.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 198 x 240 mm; folded to: 84 x 46 mm
Latin
Not known
Ruled across whole width; double rule at edge of text. Annotated: Ed.2 (i.e. Edward II) with later note: "1327 - last year of reign"
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 365 x 654 mm; folded to: 194 x 328 mm
French
Not known
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 200 x 345 mm; folded to: 208 x 92 mm
Latin
Not known
Address in English. '16' at head of address.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 330 x 320 mm; folded to: 169 x 115 mm
Dutch
Not known
Dated 1651
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 436 x 697 mm; folded to: 84 x 46 mm
Latin
Not known
Annotated: "Co. Meath". With accompanying note of provenance and transfer to David Dumville
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 249 x 290 mm; folded to: 145 x 152 mm. Damaged, with some loss of text
French
Not known
Written on both sides. Dated 10 Nov 1592.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 401 x 118 mm; folded to: 203 x 118 mm
Dutch
Flanders
Dated entries making reference to various members of the 'de Damhoudere' family prominent in Bruges
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 233 x 226 mm; folded to: 233 x 146 mm
Latin
Not known
'Traite de mariage'. Written on outer: 'Colle vraize'. Dated 2 Oct 1543
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionFragment of 1 leaf: 143 x 98 mm
Latin
Not known
Written on both sides. Glued - used as binder's waste. Insect damage.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 254 x 212 mm; written area: 223 x 160 mm
Latin
Not unknown
Written in 2 columns, with red capital strokes. Some loss of text at top edge.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf (trimmed): 197 x 147 mm
Latin
Not known
Binder's waste, probably used as pastedown. Biblical references and name: Anne David.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Physical DescriptionLeaf (trimmed): 245 x 203 mm; written area: 214 x 148 mm
Latin
Not known
With rubrication; decorated initial in red & purple; red capital strokes. Calculations in margins
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
Leaf (repaired): 189 x 285 mm; written area: 155 x 201 mm
Latin
England?
In 2 columns; written on 1 side only. Repaired. Pencil note in margin: "vita sanctorum"
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
With thanks to Dr. Christian Cooijmans for providing information on this item.
Physical DescriptionLeaf: 314 x 421 mm; folded to: 149 x 218 mm. Damaged with minor loss of text
Latin
Not known
Annotated: "L13"; address and opening in French.
Donated by Professor Clare Downham in 2022, from the collection of Professor David Dumville.
