Comprises a large amount of correspondence with writers in her professional capacity as editor of Omni magazine, Omni online and the website scifi.com, covering the years 1980-2004. The collection also includes material relating to Datlow's own work as an anthologist.
Ellen Datlow is one of the most influential editors of science fiction, fantasy and horror. She was editor of OMNI magazine and Omni Online from 1981 to 1998, establishing it as one of the most prestigious and imaginative publishers of science fiction and fantasy. She consistently attracted submissions by many leading writers, whilst also gaining a reputation for spotting new talent. Under Datlow's stewardship, OMNI published numerous award-winning short stories. She has also edited a number of science fiction, fantasy and horror anthologies, has won several World Fantasy Awards and, in 2002, won a Hugo Award for Best Professional Editor. Ellen Datlow is currently editor of Sci Fiction.
The Ellen Datlow Papers are the correspondence files of Ellen Datlow in her capacity as fiction editor of Omni magazine and Omni Online, 1981-1998. The collection comprises: letters to Ellen Datlow from a plethora of science fiction, fantasy and horror writers submitting their short stories for consideration for publication ; responses from Ellen Datlow to writers regarding their submissions, including proposals for publication or rejections, brief critical analysis of many pieces and longer exchanges with a number of established writers with whom she was acquainted. In 2004, some correspondence files from her role as editor of Sci Fiction to date were added to the collection.
The archive is fully listed and an online Datlow Finding Aid including further biographical information is available for browsing or searching.
All material in the Archive is available to scholars for consultation in the University Library's Special Collections and Archives Reading Room by prior arrangement. Please refer to visiting & using SC&A.
Material about Ellen Datlow and her works can be found in Library Search.
