100 volumes from the personal library of Janet Gnosspelius.
Janet Gnosspelius (1926-2010), a former Architecture student (BA Architecture 1948), left generous bequests to the University. Her estate included a small book collection, which reveals her wide-ranging interests and her family connections. Her Swedish grandfather, Adolf Gnosspelius, was a stockbroker in Liverpool in the 19th century; her father, Oscar, a geologist and pioneer aviator.
Her mother was the sculptor Barbara Collingwood, daughter of WG Collingwood, John Ruskin's private secretary. The Gnosspelius and Collingwood families were close to the author Arthur Ransome, and Janet appears as Nancy in Pigeon Post (1936).
After taking her Architecture degree, Janet worked with Herbert Rowse, designer of many of Liverpool’s finest buildings, including India Buildings, the Queensway Tunnel and the Philharmonic Hall. The University Archives include an example of her student design work.
Janet divided her time between Kendal and Liverpool and after her parents died in the 1960s, moved to Woolton. She became a founder member of the Gateacre Society and was involved with local conservation and local history.
Janet Gnosspelius and the collection features on the Special Collections and Archives blog Manuscripts and More:
Overview of the Gnosspelius books
The collection features Liverpool, Architecture, Children's books, and older books from her parents' and grandparents' collections, including signed copies of works by Arthur Ransome. Browse the collection.
