This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Library - University of Liverpool Skip navigation
Toggle mobile navigation

Special Collections & Archives logo : Liverpool Pamphlets

SC&A includes manuscripts and archives, medieval to modern; early and finely printed books, and science fiction collections.

 

Liverpool pamphlets

The collection of Thomas Dawson, surgeon, of 26 Rodney Street, given to the University in 1909 by Liverpool shipowner and University benefactor John W. Hughes.

Marine signals from Bidston Hill

Images. Right: Marine signals from Bidston Hill; Left: Bookplate of Thomas Dawson, MRCS.

More than 500 18th and 19th century pamphlets in 25 bound volumes, with Dawson's mss indexes dated 1860, his signature and address, and his armorial bookplate, lithographed by John McGahey. The binding titles group the collection into categories of Miscellaneous (from ballooning and botanic gardens via marine signals and murder trials to slavery and water supply: 14 volumes); Religious (6 vols); Medical (2 vols); Poetry (2 vols) and 1 volume of Oratorios.

 

 

Finding and using

  • Library catalogue records for Liverpool pamphlets: SPEC G34.30-35 and SPEC G35.1-19
  • Thomas Dawson's complete collection is listed in his article 'The pamphlet literature of Liverpool', Transactions of the Historic Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 5, (1865), pp. 73-138. It includes pre-1851 Liverpool guides.
  • John Davies, 'Liverpool guides, 1795-1914', Transactions of the Historic Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 153, (2004).
  • Liverpool 800: Culture, Character & History, ed. John Belchem (Liverpool University Press, 2006).
  • More pamphlet collections.
  • The 19th Century British Pamphlets project provides online access via JSTOR to the full text of more than 20,000 pamphlets in major research collections.