The archive, historical books, and Ronald Ross collection of the School of Tropical Medicine.
Image. The School's original premises on Pembroke Place.
The Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (LSTM) was founded in 1898 and was the World's first institution devoted primarily to tropical health.
The School was established against the backdrop of the British colonial era, when rapidly increasing trade with the Colonies saw a corresponding rise in cases of tropical disease in men serving abroad and returning to Britain.
From its very inception the School has played a crucial and pioneering role in the development of teaching and research in the field of Tropical Medicine.
The Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine Archive documents the School's establishment, its many innovations and achievements, and its growth throughout the twentieth century to become the international centre of excellence in the field which it is today.
The Archive contains administrative records of the School, biographical material relating to individual members of the School, an extensive collection of newspaper cuttings relating to the School's history, a collection of portraits of members of the School, records of and relating to the School's research outposts, material relating to School expeditions, a large collection of teaching aids, and material relating to individual departments. In addition, a substantial amount of photographic material can be found throughout the Archive.
Funded by a Wellcome Trust Research Resources in Medical History Award
