This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Library - University of Liverpool Skip navigation
Toggle mobile navigation

Special Collections & Archives logo : Medical Books

SC&A includes manuscripts and archives, medieval to modern; early and finely printed books, and science fiction collections.

 

Medical Books

900 volumes of 17th-19th century medical books and anatomical atlases. There are further 15th-19th century medical books in other sequences.

Image: SPEC M1.17

Image from Edward Jenner, Inquiry into the... cowpox 1800The collection includes medical books from the 2000-volume bequest of Dr John Nottingham (an ear and eye specialist) in 1896, from the Liverpool Athenaeum, the Liverpool Infirmary, and books transferred from the separate libraries of the Faculty of Medicine.

The medical collections include early herbals, the classic texts of Galen and Hippocrates, landmark texts by Anton van Leeuwenhoek, Edward Jenner and popular medicine such as spa cures. Anatomy is well-represented in the collection of anatomical atlases, including Andreas Vesalius, De Humani Corporis Fabrica and William Hunter's The anatomy of the human gravid uterus.The early books from the School of Tropical Medicine library are also deposited in the library, comprising 200 vols. of 17th-19th century texts and the publications of Sir Ronald Ross.

 

Finding and using