Reading Room Regulations
In order to make use the Special Collections and Archives (SCA) service safely and effectively, we request our visitors to comply to the following regulations and procedures.
You will need to bring photographic I.D., proof of your appointment (e.g. email confirmation), and your own writing implements.
- All readers must abide by the Reading Room Regulations and Handling Guidelines for the duration of their appointment.
- Please wash your hands before visiting SCA. Facilities are available in the main foyer area of the Sydney Jones Library. Hand sanitiser is available in the SCA Reception but is prohibited in the Reading Room. Please ensure hand sanitiser has evaporated before handing material.
- On arrival at SCA, please leave belongings in the secure foyer (intercom access). A locker is provided free of charge.
- You may bring a pencil, paper/notepad, laptop/tablet, and a mobile phone (switched to silent) into the Reading Room. Spare pencils are also provided in the Reading Room.
- Please proceed into the Reception area and present photographic I.D to SCA staff.
- A member of the team will ensure the material is set-up on the specialist book rests and provide book weights where necessary.
- Food and drink must not be consumed in the Reading Room.
- Permission is required to photograph any items. Please inform SCA staff prior to taking any photographs and disable the flash function on your device. Tripods and scanners are prohibited.
- The Reading Room is a silent study area. Please switch any personal devices to silent mode.
- SCA staff are on hand to assist with document handling throughout your visit. Please do not hesitate to request assistance if required.
- Once your visit is complete, please leave all SCA material and completed paperwork in the Reading Room.
The following items are prohibited within Special Collections and Archives:
- Pens, pencil cases, and pencil sharpeners
- Food and drink
- Bags (including clear carrier bags)
- Coats and jackets. If loose clothing is removed in the Reading Room during your visit (such as cardigans or scarves) please place in the lockers.
- Files, folders, and laptop sleeves/cases
Handling Guidelines
You are welcome to handle items brought up to the Reading Room, however request that you observe a few rules, in order to help us to ensure that these historical objects survive for future generations to study and enjoy.
- Always handle Special Collections material with clean, dry hands. Please freshly wash your hands immediately before visiting SCA and ensure that any hand sanitiser has evaporated completely before touching the material. If there is residue from hand sanitiser, we request that readers re-wash their hands before handling material.
- Please be aware that there is a risk of damage to material from nail polish as it can mark the surface of paper or parchment.
- Start by having a look at the book or document, before you begin to consult the material - look out for vulnerable areas, such as loose pages, damaged spines, or folds (which are liable to tear), and take extra care where these are observed.
- Never open books flat on the table – this will damage the spine; use book supports and cushions to create an angled support. Staff can help with advice as to which support will best suit the book in question.
- Archive material differs in size, format and condition, items can be fragile and difficult to handle (heavy or rolled for example), in such cases assistance will be provide by SCA staff.
- Bear in mind that you are likely to need to adjust the book supports to suit different angles of book opening when examining different sections of the book. You’ll need to use extra supports for any fold-outs you come across.
- Take care when turning leaves. It is best to turn one page at a time, from the top outside corner.
- Do not lean or rest on material. Use snake weights to hold leaves open at a page you would like to examine further but try and avoid placing the weight on text areas, or illustrations. Only use acid-free paper as bookmarks when needed.
- Ensure that material is returned to folders/boxes in the correct order and tidy.
- Use nitrile gloves when handling photographs and hold them at the edges. Be aware that gloves will dull the sensitivity of your hands.
- Always carry SCA material with two hands.
If you are at all unsure of the safest way to handle an item, ask for assistance from staff, they will be happy to help. Book supports, snake weights, acid free slips, and nitrile gloves are provided.
Disclaimer
Special Collections and Archives reserves the right to cancel appointments. The University of Liverpool regrets that we cannot be held liable for any loss or damage (including but not limited to travel and accommodation costs) arising from any cancellation of appointments at Special Collections and Archives.
