Library: Mathematical Sciences:

Welcome

I'm here to help students and staff studying, researching or teaching Maths.

Book an appointment with me for advice on finding and using library resources, effective searching and referencing your sources.

If you are a member of staff and would like a library induction or academic skills teaching for your students, advice about reading lists or have any questions about resources provided by the library, please do get in touch.

Liaison Librarian

Zelda Chatten

she/her

Contact:

My office is on the first floor of the Harold Cohen Library. You can contact me by email or book an appointment.

Subjects: Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mathematical Sciences, Physics

Databases and Resources for Mathematical Sciences

MathSciNet
From the American Mathematical Society, an easy to search database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information covering the mathematical sciences literature.
MathSciNet contains direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from articles dates to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles, and reviews is provided. Coverage: early 1800s to present.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for interdisciplinary subjects, searching for authors and tracking down citations
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic science focused database that provides a comprehensive citation search.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).
Google Scholar
A simple way to search for scholarly literature.
When using this link to access Google Scholar, you will see “is it @ Liverpool” next to the results. Selecting ''Is it @ Liverpool' will provide you with a link to access the article (if University of Liverpool Library has an active subscription to that content).

arXiv
An open archive of preprints in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology and finance.
The topic areas of the arXiv scholarly articles include physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Maths books can be found at the following locations in the Harold Cohen Library. Find the location of books using Library Search.

QA to QA39 are in Silent Study on Floor 1
QA74 to QA356 are with the books on Ground Floor Rear


Class number	Subject
Class	Subject
QA	Mathematics
QA 9	Mathematical logic
QA 21	History of mathematics
QA 36	General mathematics
QA 76	Theoretical computer science
QA 93	Recreational mathematics
QA 150	Algebra
QA 164	Combinatorics
QA 171	Group theory
QA 184	Linear algebra
QA 241	Number theory
QA 269	Game theory
QA 273	Probability theory
QA 274	Stochastic processes
QA 276	Statistics