Library: Languages, Cultures and Film:

Liaison Librarian

Sam Gill

He/Him

Contact:

I am based in the Sydney Jones Library - please contact me by email or book an appointment.

0151 294 3940

Subjects: Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology, History, Irish Studies, Languages, Cultures and Film, Politics

Key online resources for Languages, Cultures and Film

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995 in New York City, United States. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals.
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA)
Produced by the Modern Language Association, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database, which offers an extensive collection of full-text periodicals, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full-text, this resource also offers indexing and abstracts for a large number of journals, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Scholarly content covers a broad range of academic studies, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences. The database also provides access to video content from the Associated Press, with footages from 1930 to the present.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Literature Online
- This link opens in a new window
Literature Online is a a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 317 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
This is a resource for all aspects of literary research and teaching. LION Online offers a library of works online supported with full text journals and reference material to help contextualize primary works and authors. It is possible to cross-search relevant content including Early European Books, historical newspapers, dissertations, and archival magazine collections. There are a range of content types, including criticism resources, primary works, reference resources, video, and audio. Coverage: 1280 to present.
Project MUSE
A collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
A source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. The Library subscribes to the Standard Collection, not the full Premium Collection.
CAIRN French Studies Collection
Cairn.info offers a collection of over 130 publications in the French language from major French, Belgian and Swiss publishers. Our subscription includes access to the English version of the journals in Cairn International Edition, provided the English version exists. You can switch between the French and English editions using the top navigation menu.
This database offers a collection of publications in the French language from major French, Belgian and Swiss publishers. Our subscription includes access to the English version of the journals in Cairn International Edition. You can switch between the French and English editions using the top navigation menu.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
A database covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including world history, military history, history of education, and more.
It provides indexing of academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. In 2006, Historical Abstracts began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. Coverage: 1955 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
This database consists of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. We subscribe to the Premium Collection which offers indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works, including information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series. We also subscribe to the Literature and Western Civilization collections.
Oxford Bibliographies
A database that provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopaedia entries maintained by Oxford University Press.
It helps researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to specific chapters, books, websites, archives, or data. Our subscription includes access to the African Studies, Atlantic History, Classics, Criminology, Geography, International Law, Linguistics, Military History, Political Science and Sociology modules. Perpetual access to the Victorian Literature module is also available. In each module, scholars have produced a guide to sources in an area of study. The guides feature bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft
An international bibliography of German literature and literary studies. Guest status: limited access to the BDSL Online database. You can search for the reporting years from 1985 to 2009.

This tab lists newspaper platforms that may be of particular use to MLC students. For more detailed information about current newspaper subscriptions and titles received in print, please access the main Newspapers Library Guide.

PressReader
Access to content from the last 90 days from thousands on international publications. Filter your search by country.
It operates digital editions of newspapers and magazines for publishers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post and The Globe and Mail. You can download and save titles to read offline. We have access to content from the last 90 days from thousands of UK and International newspapers and magazines.
Gale OneFile: News
- This link opens in a new window
This Gale resource provides access to major UK regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
You can access UK and international newspapers online; search articles by title, headline, date, or other fields. Use Gale NewsVault to search the Gale newspaper archives. Included are the historical archives of Financial Times, Illustrated London News, Times and Sunday Times, Times Literary Supplement, Economist, Daily Mail, Listener and Picture Post, as well as British Library Newspapers 1732 - 1950, and 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.
Gale Primary Sources
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical newspapers.
It enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents using multiple search options and research tools. The cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.

The Sydney Jones Library holds a large collection of films on DVD. They can be searched with a title search in the Library Catalogue. The Library can loan portable DVD players to students without a device to watch DVDs. The main platforms for accessing film and media content online are listed below.

BFI Player
First Time Users:Create your BFI account using your University email address at BFI Player Academic Registration
Select "University of Liverpool" as your institution from the dropdown list. You may need to authenticate your subscription using your University credentials.
Returning Users: Visit BFI Player Sign In and log in to your BFI account using your University email address.

Please Note: all users need to re-subscribe every year. Visit BFI Player Academic Registration and select 'Already have an account? Sign in'. Once you have logged in with the username and password set up last year you will need to select "University of Liverpool" as your institution from the dropdown. It may be necessary to authenticate your subscription using your University credentials.

This service allows access to items in the Subscription (Purple label) section of the BFI player - it does not provide access to items in the Rental (Red label) section. Films available on BFI Subscription are determined by BFI and may only be available for a limited time.
BoB
On demand TV and radio service for education. Record, search and stream TV and radio programmes.
BoB (formerly Box of Broadcasts or BoB National) is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The first time you use BoB you will be prompted to enter an email address to use the MyBoB Playlist facility.
BoB is usually only available to users on the UK mainland. However, the Library is participating in a pilot project which now allows some BoB content to be made available to overseas students. Further details can be found at FAQ .
Kanopy
Kanopy provides access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world. Films range from award-winning documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable
Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films, and educational videos that inspire, and entertain. To be able to start watching the content on Kanopy, you need to sign up with your university login.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
A portal for open access research theses provided by DART-Europe, which is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia.
DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). It offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications.
EThOS e-Theses Online Service
UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
EThOS aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers and it helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
It assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge to unlock the potential benefits worldwide. It also supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship to enhance the sharing of knowledge.
ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
This database enables you to search several databases containing scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
It powers research in academic, corporate, government, public and school libraries around the world with content, including academic databases, and technologies that connect people with information. This database contains subject areas, such as dissertations & theses, health & life sciences, humanities & social sciences, and contemporary & historical newspapers.

University of Liverpool Library is participating in the Centre for Research Libraries' Global Collections Initiative. The initiative seeks to expand electronic access to primary source materials and data for area and international studies. The initial development phase focuses on Latin America and the Caribbean.

GCI participants have access to the rich resources pertaining to Latin America held by CRL in microform and digital formats. Use this catalog to discover and access:

Historical and current newspapers published in Latin America and the Caribbean
Political, economic, and cultural journals
Government documents and archival resources
Statistical reports and census information
Publications pertaining to the Latin American Diaspora

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Languages, Cultures and Film:

Welcome

Liaison Librarian

Key online resources for Languages, Cultures and Film

This tab lists newspaper platforms that may be of particular use to MLC students. For more detailed information about current newspaper subscriptions and titles received in print, please access the main Newspapers Library Guide.

Languages, Cultures and Film:

Languages Culture and Film

Welcome

Liaison Librarian

Key online resources for Languages, Cultures and Film

This tab lists newspaper platforms that may be of particular use to MLC students. For more detailed information about current newspaper subscriptions and titles received in print, please access the main Newspapers Library Guide.