Library: Politics:

Liaison Librarian

Sam Gill

He/Him

Contact:

I am based in the Sydney Jones Library - please contact me by email or book an appointment.

0151 294 3940

Subjects: Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology, History, Irish Studies, Languages, Cultures and Film, Politics

Databases and resources for Politics

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database, which offers an extensive collection of full-text periodicals, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full-text, this resource also offers indexing and abstracts for a large number of journals, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Scholarly content covers a broad range of academic studies, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences. The database also provides access to video content from the Associated Press, with footages from 1930 to the present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals
A source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. The Library subscribes to the Standard Collection, not the full Premium Collection.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).
SAGE Journals
SAGE publishes journals in a wide range of subject areas: mainly in business, humanities, social sciences, and medicine. We have access to most SAGE journals, and right back to Volume 1 in most cases.
You can browse the journal platform for the latest top downloaded articles, special issues, and full journal portfolios from the available disciplines. We have access to most SAGE journals, and the coverage is from Volume 1, in most cases.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online is Oxford University Press's e-books platform.
We have access to ebooks in the following 17 subject areas: biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, and sociology.

Newspaper platforms that may be of particular use to Politics students. For more detailed information about current newspaper subscriptions and titles received in print, please access the main Newspapers Library Guide

State Papers Online: The Government of Britain, 1509-1714
- This link opens in a new window
State Department Papers Online, 1509-1714 is a searchable archive of 16th- and 17th-century State Papers Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council for research and teaching projects in politics, government, and social, economic, and religious history.
The database provides original historical materials across a range of government concerns. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain and its place in the Early Modern world. We have access to Parts I to IV. Coverage: 1509-1714.
Stormont Papers
This website offers access to the Parliamentary Debates of the devolved government of Northern Ireland from June 7 1921 to the dissolution of Parliament in March 28 1972.
The printed pages of Parliamentary Debates have been digitised with the support of academics, archivists, and politicians. The resource has been available online since October 2006. These papers cast a unique light on the development of the Province. The site enables you to view the volumes, search using keywords or browse debates according to the combined subject index. Note: As the site is in the process of being rebuilt, there is only minimal access to the content.
UK Parliamentary Papers
- This link opens in a new window
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. We have access to the following collections: 18th century (1688-1834), 19th century (1801-1900) and 20th century (1901-2003/04 session).
Parliamentary Papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy and provided a forum for the ideas of thinkers of the day. With the core content of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers and House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, the digitization of the Parliamentary Papers of the UK Parliament has made this resource a research destination for everything associated with parliamentary research.
UK Parliament Publications and Records
Includes: Hansard (the Official Report)- the edited verbatim report of proceedings of both Houses of Parliament Business Papers - the current and future business of Parliament House of Commons Publications: Weekly Information Bulletin, Standing Orders Commons Public Business, Standing Orders Commons Private Business and the Register of Members' Interests House of Lords Publications - Standing Orders Public Business, Standing Orders Private Business, Register of Lords' Interests and House of Lords Annual Reports and Research Reports produced by the Libraries of both Houses and by the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology.
The records included on this platform include The Official Report (Hansard), Written Questions and Answers, and Written Statements from the House of Commons and House of Lords, House of Commons and House of Lords business papers and publications, committee and research publications, and parliamentary archives.
Gale Primary Sources
- This link opens in a new window
Documents from over 500 years of History. Search across 19 databases which include manuscripts, monographs and newspapers. Sophisticated tools and features includes term frequency searching and term clusters.
It enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents using multiple search options and research tools. The cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.

Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
This database consists of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. We subscribe to the Premium Collection which offers indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works, including information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series. We also subscribe to the Literature and Western Civilization collections.
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Online (modules: African Studies, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, Classics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Political Science, Renaissance and Reformation, Victorian Literature) helps researchers quickly find reliable sources of information by directing them to specific chapters, books, websites, archives, or data.
It helps researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to specific chapters, books, websites, archives, or data. Our subscription includes access to the African Studies, Atlantic History, Classics, Criminology, Geography, International Law, Linguistics, Military History, Political Science and Sociology modules. Perpetual access to the Victorian Literature module is also available. In each module, scholars have produced a guide to sources in an area of study. The guides feature bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). It offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications.
EThOS e-Theses Online Service
EThOS provides access to UK doctoral theses online.
EThOS aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers and it helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
More InfoThe Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
It assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge to unlock the potential benefits worldwide. It also supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship to enhance the sharing of knowledge.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertation Abstracts includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Those published from 1980 onwards also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
A digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and a database of record for graduate research. It includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present, and full-text dissertations that are available for download. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997, and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. The resource also includes PQDT UK and Ireland content.