Library Guides: Psychology:

Welcome

This guide provides all you need to get started finding information and resources for your studies, teaching or research in psychology.

If you would like help with study skills, finding and using library resources, effective searching strategies and referencing your sources, have a look at our KnowHow page which has information on all our webinars, workshops and links to our online tutorials. Further help with referencing can be found on our dedicated referencing page.

If you have any queries or need further help, please see our online support including Frequently Asked Questions and online chat available 24/7. You can also email library@liverpool.ac.uk and you'll be directed to the most appropriate member of the library team.

Databases and resources for Psychology

Clinical Evidence (BMJ)
is one of the world's most authoritative medical resources for informing treatment decisions and improving patient care

Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Due to licensing restrictions this is available to users in England only

In addition to Cochrane Reviews, Cochrane Library provides other sources of information, such as other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Only available to users in the United Kingdom.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
This platform covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

MEDLINE is a biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is updated daily, and it offers bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals. It contains records with the following possible status besides MEDLINE: Publisher, In-Data-Review, In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM. Coverage: 1948 to present.
APA PsycArticles
A database of full-text articles published by the American Psychological Association, and affiliated journals.

This collection provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field. With current journal coverage and many journal issues going back to volume 1, APA PsycArticles offers users complete access to research on specific areas of study.
APA PsycInfo
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this resource is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health.

PsycInfo contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines in areas such as medicine, nursing, sociology, physiology, linguistics, education, and law. Coverage: 1800s to present.
Trip
A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence.

The database started in 1997 because of the work of the founders Jon Brassey and Dr Chris Price in answering clinical questions. The creation of the Trip Database allowed the simultaneous searching of multiple sites. Its evolution has been guided by the desire to answer clinical questions using the principles of evidence based medicine.

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
makes a lot of its material available on its website free-of-charge or for a small fee.
CTB/McGraw-Hill
is an important source of education testing material, principally used in the USA.
ETS Test Collection
Not for profit Educational Testing Service
GL Assessment
is an important publisher of assessment and testing materials for use in schools. It also sells a large range of screening and diagnostic tools for use by health and psychology professionals. Many of its resources are sold only to qualified users or to schools and similar bodies.(Formerly called nferNelson).
OPP
is one of Europe's largest business psychology consultancies. They carry out tests for recruitment and staff development purposes, and sell psychometric tools to properly qualified individuals. They have their own guidelines on the ethical use of psychometric tools.
Pearson Assessment
is a very important source of testing material, with many products adapted to UK needs. The focus is on Psychology, Allied Health and Education. Each test is classified with a Qualification Code. Before you can purchase material from them, you have to be registered. Your level of qualification governs the tests they will sell to you.
TalentLens
from Pearson supplies a number of assessment tools for use in recruiting personnel, developing their skills, managing stress and retaining staff.
UK Recruiter
includes a section on HR tests. Also lists companies which carry out tests and those which sell tests.

Non- commercial tests

Lab tests online

Psychological Testing Centre (PTC) The British Psychological Society’s provides information and services relating to standards in tests and testing for test takers, test users, test developers and members of the public.