![Members of the University walking through University Square at the junction of Brownlow Hill and Mount Pleasant, the Electrical Engineering Building visible in the background [1980s-1990s]](https://libapps-eu.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/393/images/rsz_a268_25_walking_around_campus.jpg)
The Library’s Special Collections & Archives have launched a new exhibition, Student Life in the University of Liverpool Archive, all about the history of student life at the University of Liverpool.
The exhibition draws upon a variety of archival material (including photographs, diaries, and publications) from within the University Archive. This material has been curated in order to build a picture of student life at the University of Liverpool from the creation of University College in 1881 and throughout the 20th century.
From this exhibition you can expect major throwbacks, extravagant outfits, interesting hair-dos and some questionable sports attire…
The online exhibition provides access to over 200 digital images of archival material held within Special Collections & Archives. The exhibition is categorised into themes including Academic Life, Student Accommodation, Guild, Sports, Events and more! There are also further categories in the pipeline to be published later this year all about Student Activism and Students and the City of Liverpool.
If you can’t get enough of this exhibition, join us on Wednesday 28th April for a talk by Robyn Orr from Special Collections & Archives, all about this exhibition, how it was made and some interesting insights into student history! Book your place to join us.
You could be included in a future exhibition about student life! We are creating an archive of staff and student experiences of University life during the COVID-19 pandemic for future generations of researchers, and we need your help! Find out more about the Pandemic Archive and submit your contributions!
0 Comments.