Special Collections & Archives: Josephine Butler Bibliography

Josephine Butler Bibliography

Biographies and studies

"My husband and I were singularly united through all our life. We worked together ... and therefore it was impossible for me to write a life of him, without its being, in a measure, an autobiography." (Letter to Fanny Forsaith, 5 March 1903)

• Ingrid Sharp and Jane Jordan (eds.) Josephine Butler and the Prostitution Campaigns (2002)
• Jane Jordan Josephine Butler (2001 hbk, 2007 pbk)
• Barbara Caine Victorian feminists (1992)
• Margaret Forster Significant Sisters (1984)
• Jenny Uglow Josephine Butler in Dale Spender (ed.) Feminist theorists(1983)
• Enid Moberly Bell Josephine Butler (1962)

Works by Josephine Butler

"There is a new edition of "Who's Who" - in wch I see put down a list of things I have written, & it appals me even to read it! No wonder I am tired." (Letter to Rhoda Butler, 30 Oct. 1901)

• Ingrid Sharp and Jane Jordan (eds.) Josephine Butler and the Prostitution Campaigns (2002) is a five-volume anthology of the literature of the movement to repeal the Contagious Diseases Acts, arranged thematically. It includes a Bibliography of Josephine Butler's publications (vol.1, pp.24-26)
• Virtually all of the texts in the Bibliography are available in the Butler collections at Liverpool
• The collections also include most of Josephine Butler's letters on microfiche

Finding and using

• Josephine Butler home
• Josephine Butler Portraits
• Bibliography
• Related External Collections

• Finding aid for the Josephine Butler Papers and Josephine Butler Memorial House Archive (unpublished collections).
• Books and pamphlets in the Josephine Butler collection.

See items in Highlights gallery