This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Special Collections & Archives logo : Medieval Manuscripts

SC&A includes manuscripts and archives, medieval to modern; early and finely printed books, and science fiction collections.

Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts

The University Library owns 50 medieval and renaissance manuscripts. It also holds the Mayer MSS deposited by National Museums Liverpool.

Image of the birth of Christ from MS.F.2.14, a medieval book of hoursThese collections are a witness to the cultural and educational life of Liverpool from the late nineteenth century onwards. The University's collection in particular reflects the taste and aspirations of the City's wealthy benefactors, and the generosity of the families wishing to commemorate their lives.

The medieval manuscripts in these collections are fully described in N.R. Ker's catalogue of Medieval Manuscripts in British Libraries and in the exhibition catalogues detailed below. Many have survived in their medieval bindings. There are also collections of early deeds described separately.

Almost half of the collection was bequeathed by Thomas Glazebrook Rylands (1818-1900); a further eight manuscripts were given by Charles Sydney Jones (1872-1947) alongside his generous benefactions to the former Education Library and four by R. G. Morton (1880-1973) in 1969. The period 1938-1961, when Kenneth Povey was University Librarian was a active period of acquisition: 18 further manuscripts were added by donation, transfer (from the Gregson Memorial Institute), and purchase.

Manuscript collections

View the Manuscript collections at a glance by shelfmark or browse the collections via the galleries below.