See our Cite them Right (online referencing textbook):
When you write your assignment or dissertation you are required to refer to the work of authors. Each time you do so, it is necessary to identify their work by making reference to it in your written work. You need to reference to:
For further help with referencing, individual styles and referencing software, see our Library Referencing Guide
We provide access to the Cite them Right online textbook, providing guidance citing a range of resource types such as books, journals, reports, legal and other resources with examples, including how to reference in-text (in the body of your work) and when creating a full bibliography or reference list at the end of your work.
Also see our video on how to use Cite them Right.
See tab above Academic Integrity and Plagiarism, also see how to avoid plagiarism (Cite them Right online textbook).
When you submit your academic work online your work will be evaluated for plagiarism in the Turnitin system. You should enclose all references in quotation marks "" to prevent Turnitin recording the reference as plagiarism. If you are required to submit work in Turnitin. You should also use quotation marks to enclose quotations of your own previously-submitted work otherwise a plagiarism occurrence will be activated in Turnitin. Our Principles of Referencing guide (above) provides detailed information on self-referencing.
Plagiarism means presenting the work of others as your own work
If you fail to properly reference all the sources and quotations you have used in your writing, or use the work of others verbatim (i.e. cut and pasted into your own writing without acknowledgement) then you are committing an academic offense called Plagiarism.
If you are found to have plagiarised i.e. improperly used the work of others as your own, then you will be liable for academic penalties subject to University procedures. It is important to cite i.e. present details of other authors' work correctly when used in your own writing. Please read below for further information on plagiarism and see our Referencing page for citing the work of others correctly in your own writing.
Plagiarism is the use of other author's work as your own without adequate referencing and acknowledgement.
You should be aware of plagiarism, since this is a form of academic misconduct, you will typically be expected to submit your written work through a plagiarism detection system in the Blackboard learning environment, you can be penalised for submitting plagiarised work.
The University treats plagiarism as a matter for academic judgement.
Section 2.7 of the University’s Code of Practice on Assessment provides the following definition of plagiarism:
"Plagiarism occurs when a student misrepresents the work or ideas of any other person (including another student) or of any institution, as his/her own work. Examples of forms of plagiarism include:
All types of work submitted by students are covered by this definition, including, for example, written work, diagrams, designs, charts, musical compositions and pictures.
Also see the following guides and policies explaining how to avoid plagiarising the work of others:
University guide on Plagiarism, collusion and fabrication of data (including Code of Practice and other policies).
How to avoid plagiarism (Cite them Right online textbook)
Referencing styles refer to schemes or rule sets for referencing, these can sometimes refer to specific disciplines or academic areas, you should check your programme handbook or consult your adacemic tutor if you are unsure which style you are required to use for your programme. The University has adopted a Referencing Policy for the use of major, supported styles for use across the organisation and within faculties or insitutes, for details of all referencing styles used at UoL see the Referencing Library Guide.
Referencing styles include the following:
Harvard is used for disciplines such as management, computing and some health programmes. This version of Harvard is based on the Palgrave referencing textbook "Cite them Right". "Harvard (Cite them Right)" is widely supported across databases and referencing systems.
See Harvard guidance on the Cite them Right (Online textbook)
Note on use of et al. for bibliographic citations in 'Cite them Right (Harvard)' -
It is acceptable to use either 'et al.' (for more than three authors) or the full list of authors in your bibliographic lists (you should however use 'et al.' for in-text citations of more than three authors). Some citation platforms/software such as Mendeley may force the use of et al. when generating bibliographies - this should however be acceptable for your papers/dissertation, for any queries on this please contact your Librarian.
Note on citing texts in non-English languages -
When quoting from non-English sources, Harvard (Cite them Right) requires any in-text quotation of the work to be presented in its original language (as published), rather than attempt to paraphrase or present your own translation as a quotation. Instead you should quote the original text, then summarise or explain the topic, argument or research you are citing in the body of your work (see guideline below on 'Citing books in languages other than English'. If you are citing without quoting, such as summarising a non-English work in-text, you can similarly explain the context in your own work, using normal referencing methods to cite the work (such as indicating the author, year and pages if required).
When including a full bibliographic citation in your bibliography/reference list, you should display this using the normal convention for the resource type, there is no requirement to attempt to provide a translation of the full bibliographic reference; you may however wish to explain the content of the title or text in your own written work. Care should be taken using automatic translation systems online as these may not render original works correctly or as intended by the author.
Please also see the following advice on the Cite them Right online handbook:
APA is used for some psychology and education programmes.
Basics of APA Style (PDF format)
OSCOLA is used for law programmes.
OSCOLA Cite them Right guides:
For an online presentation on using Library databases see: Practical Research skills, Finding Case Law and Finding Legislation, also see OSCOLA Referencing Support and Guidance.
OSCOLA EndNote style
The style file will be present if you use EndNote oncampus (MWS machines) but not on the UoL software portal. Visit the EndNote OSCOLA 4th Edition page to download the stye file, then copy the file to the Program Files (x86) > EndNote 21 > Styles folder, note on Windows you may need to run Windows file manager/explorer with administrator rights. To open File Explorer with administrator rights on Windows computers:
Vancouver is used for some medicine programmes.
This style is used by some online records management or achival programmes
For help with EndNote Desktop or EndNote Online, with handbooks and tutorials also see our main Referencing software support pages.
