Library: Online and Remote Studies: Home

Online Updates

Other Updates from the Library:

Certification for Legal Resources

Sign into Library Search to access Library eresources and your Library account

See our A-Z list of Databases for further major platforms.

Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Westlaw UK
A comprehensive online legal research service, including case law and legislation, eJournals, eBooks, current awareness services, EU case law, legislation and treaties, news and business information. The first time you access the service you will be prompted to enter your name and university email address to enable you to use the personalisation features.
Lexis+ International
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions
LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited
To navigate to Lexis+ International, on the Lexis+ homepage select ‘International’.
Lexis+ International is a full-text database, which contains international material, such as legislation, case law and journal articles from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, and the United States. Resources are organised by jurisdiction and content type. The database enables you to either search or browse the content. There is a ‘search help’ function located at the top right hand corner of the search bar, which gives you tips on how to utilise the search function efficiently.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
This platform covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
MEDLINE is a biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is updated daily, and it offers bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals. It contains records with the following possible status besides MEDLINE: Publisher, In-Data-Review, In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM. Coverage: 1948 to present.
Europe PMC
A repository and open science platform, providing access to a worldwide collection of life science publications, such as articles, books, patents, and clinical guidelines.
This resource provides links to relevant records in databases such as Uniprot, European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), Protein Data Bank Europe (PDBE), and BioStudies. Europe PMC also contains abstracts, Patents, NHS guidelines, and Agricola records.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
This portal serves as an international resource for the scientific research community, giving access to databases providing biomedical and genomic information. To create an NCBI account and to access the site, click ‘Log in’ on the top right-hand side of the resource website. On the next page select ‘more login options’. Now type University of Liverpool, select it and when prompted, enter your MWS login credentials.
The NCBI is located in Bethesda, Maryland and was founded in 1988. It forms part of the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM), a branch of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Google Scholar can search licensed and Open Access resources, Note - the Library does not operate Scholar and cannot guarantee levels of service.

If the above link or search box isn't working, use this link to Google Scholar.

You can alternatively configure the public version of https://scholar.google.com to display UoL links to licensed content, see this FAQ: How do I get links to full-text to show up when I am using Google Scholar off-campus?

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Online and Remote Studies: Home

Online Updates

Certification for Legal Resources