Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizzes" tab above.
Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizzes" tab above.
Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizzes" tab above.
See the Referencing tab above for links to help using referencing styles, citation software, understanding plagiarism and how to ensure academic integrity for your work.
See the Subjects page above for additional guides, video and tutorials. Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizzes" tab above.
See our Researcher KnowHow tutorials for interactive video and tutorials on research skills, systematic review, using data and other topics.
Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizes" tab above.
You can access a range of textbooks to support your studies or research using our Library Search platform, such as:
SAGE Research Methods can be used across the social sciences, health sciences and many other disciplines.
Note - when searching, select 'Content Available to Me' (right menu in results page) to avoid non-subscribed content.
LinkedIn Learning provides a wide range of video tutorials and modules for a wide range of academic support, research, technical and professional topics. See help logging into LinkedIn Learning.
Suggested LinkedIn Learning Resource:
See our KnowHow tutorials for a range of interactive video and tutorials on study skills.
Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizes" tab above.
In addition to online video tutorials below, you can view recordngs of previous KnowHow webinars, see tab above.
Also see the following additional KnowHow resources:
KnowHow Stats YouTube channel or our LinkedIn learning playlists on: SPSS, STATA, Minitab, R, General Stats.
See the Library Services page for services such as document supply/ scanning, phyiscal loans, ID cards, use of local academic libraries and related services. Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizes" tab above.
Also see quizzes on a range of library topics under the 'Quizzes" tab above.
Use this plugin to access E-Resources when using the WWW to search. See the Apps page.
KnowHow is a UoL service providing live study skills, writing, statistics and EndNote referencing software seminars, the sessions require you install Microsoft Teams to connect to sessions (log into Teams with your MWS details in the format MWS username@liverpool.ac.uk. For a list of timetabled KnowHow sessions, see a little way down the campus Library homepage or see the training calendar.
Also see our Researcher KnowHow site for information on research support and sessions on research data management, Open Access support and Research Impact.
Reading Lists @ Liverpool - staff training is regularly provided on-campus (see RL@L site or the training calendar) you can also contact your librarian to schedule a session via Teams. Some features mentioned on the RL@L site, guides and recordings such as list reviews, print book stocking/ purchase and scanning are managed differently for online partnership programmes.
Most licensed/ commercial databases provide guides, video, bookable training/ webinars or enquiry services for specialist database advice and analysis. You can also contact the Online Librarian if you have any difficulties or for additional support using individual databases.
See the following database links for analyst enquiries or bookable training/webinars:
For other databases/collections, browse to the individual database where you require guides, training or analyst support (see the Subject page or A-Z of databases), then navigate to the Help, Support or similar area on that database.
LinkedIn Learning provides a wide range of video tutorials and modules for academic support, research, technical and professional topics. See the Apps page for help logging into LinkedIn Learning.
Also see the Microsoft Learn platform (you can log in using your UoL login in the format username@liverpool.ac.uk) to complete certificates on a range of technical and information communications topics.
A range of tutorials, video and guides are available to support research based programmes such as EdD/DBA for writing and preparing research projects, please, see this link.
See our KnowHow tutorials for a range of interactive video and tutorials on academic writing.
You can attend a range of live sessions/ tutorials on writing-related topics with our 'KnowHow' study skills programme see the full list of bookable events a little way down the campus Library homepage (many of these are provided via Microsoft Teams for online attendance). Also see tabs above for recordings of past sessions or video tutorials you can watch at any time.
If you are registered with a campus programme, or based with a research institute e.g. carrying out a PhD/MPhil or other research, please also consult your programme team or research supervisor for potential grammar/ writing support within your school. Your department or institute may provide additional guidance or resources to support your writing and research.
If you are studying on a campus programme you can also approach your laision librarian for advice on campus Library services and support.
If you are studying with Kaplan Open Learning, our E-Learning partner, you can also consult your Student Advisor for advice on writing, also see online writing tutorials and guides on the KOL student portal.
University students can obtain the full Microsoft Office 365 application, this has an in-built grammar checker which can be enabled or configured within Word, via the desktop application or online version, see:
https://www.liverpool.ac.uk/csd/office/office-at-home/ (also this this Microsoft guide on using the Word 365 review tool for checking grammar). Please note that UoL/campus services do not have a site wide license for the Grammarly software, please see suggestions below for accessing alternative software and support options available.
You can access previously recorded KnowHow Webinars/ online sessions delivered for student groups:
Open in full screen or see NCBI channel
Open in full screen or see Lexis channel
Open in full screen or see ProQuest Ebook Central Reader channel
Open in full screen or see EBSCO channel
LinkedIn Learning provides a wide range of video tutorials and modules for a wide range of academic support, research, technical and professional topics. See help logging into LinkedIn Learning.
Suggested LinkedIn modules:
