This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Library - University of Liverpool Skip navigation

Special Collections & Archives logo : Travels in Europe

SC&A includes manuscripts and archives, medieval to modern; early and finely printed books, and science fiction collections.

 

Travels in Europe

An exhibition exploring the relationship between the United Kingdom and Europe, considering Europe as a holiday destination, as a source of inspiration, and as a place to find refuge.

 

Highlights include:

  • European editions of Terry Pratchett’s Witches Abroad and the iconic art of Frank R. Paul representing the permeable cultural boundaries of the fantastic (Science Fiction collection)
  • Ephemera from the Cunard Archive and guide books from the Literary Annuals collection which show the enduring appeal of Europe to tourists.
  • Personal reflections on European travel in travel diaries and letters – by a passenger aboard RMS Lanconia II in the 1920s (Cunard), Maria Rathbone (1844-1913) exploring the fjords and fjelds in Norway, and Josephine Butler (1828-1906) getting caught in a thunderstorm in the Alps.
  • The books and letters of two exiles from Spain - Joseph Blanco White (1775-1841) and Manuel Irujo (1891-1981) - speak of conflict in Europe, but also of the opportunity for co-operation and support in times of hardship, with both men finding welcome in Liverpool.
  • Finally, architectural drawings created by a University of Liverpool student in the 1950s, Michael Bottomley, demonstrate the appeal of Europe as a place of inspiration and highlight the links that the University of Liverpool maintains with Europe.